A Line of Blood – Ben McPherson – uncomfortable but 4 stars!

Uncomfortable exploration of family relationships and dynamicsa line of blood
A Line of Blood  is a dark and uncomfortable look into the dynamics of, what appears on the surface, to be a normal family living in North London whose world is shaken by the sudden death of their next door neighbour.
I genuinely didn’t like any of the main characters, I warmed to none of them and my dislike of them grew as the book progressed, at some points I wanted to physically shake them through the pages of the book! – however I am completely comfortable with disliking characters in a book – so this didn’t phase me at all – in fact  perversely, my dislike of the characters probably enhanced my enjoyment of the book!
It was well written, thought out, quirky and extremely dark. I think it would appeal to those who like their thrillers a little quirky, have an interest in family relationships and the darker side of life. 4 stars from me as an interesting debut!

Leave a Reply

