Sleep Sister – Laura Elliot – 4 stars

Thanks to Netgalley for my ARC in return for an honest review. Dark, emotional and haunting!

Sleep Sister is very far removed from my usual psychological thriller so I was unsure about it when I first picked it up to read but it still managed to pack quite a punch with me!
A very deep read covering child abuse and the impact on a family and indeed a community over the years. The subject matter is dark but it is not a graphic novel so it is not disturbing in that way – and for me that’s what makes a good book, something you can feel and live and have emotions without the nitty gritty being laid bare in the book.
It did get a wee bit confusing towards the middle with the number of characters involved and I felt it was a bit difficult to keep up with the who was who and how they were connected but this did not detract in anyway from the plot or my enjoyment of the book.
It’s an uncomfortable but emotional read (the synopsis is there for those who want more detail about that) I felt connected to the characters and indeed to the village and the community affected by what had happened all those years ago and the ripple effect over the years and on the lives of so many.
I would wholeheartedly recommend this book to others, a fab read!

Leave a Reply

