Snatched from Home – Graham Smith

G Smith

 Ahhh I have to give a huge thanks to my #Twinnie Noelle Holten AKA CrimeBookJunkie (check out her blog by the way it’s awesome) for recommending Snatched (and Graham Smith) to me! It was always on my radar to read but her enthusiasm for the book made me want to just go and grab it! Poor Graham now he’s got another #CrazyBookLady stalki…oops I mean following him! 

Anyway check out my review below and hope it makes you want to join #TeamEvans 

Synopsis

Middle-class parents Victoria and Nicholas Foulkes are distraught when their children are kidnapped against Nicholas’ gambling debts. Penniless and desperate the couple turn to crime as a way to raise the ransom.

Hot on their heels is recently bereaved DI Harry Evans and his Major Crimes team. Evans is fighting against enforced retirement and his replacement – DI John Campbell – is foisted upon him along with other cases. If he must leave the police then he wants one last big case before he goes.

In a race against time Victoria and Nicholas must evade the police while continuing to add to the ransom fund. If they don’t pay up on time the kidnappers have threatened to amputate their children’s limbs with an oxy-acetylene torch.

Can they save their children before time runs out?

My review: 4/5

Well I took my time to bump this up my TBR pile and now I’m kicking myself for waiting so long! Graham Smith – I loved Snatched from Home!
At the beginning I wasn’t sure that I was going to like Harry Evans, his rudeness, brashness and unique ways of dealing with crime seemed off putting to me – but God by the end I am so rooting for him #TeamEvans for me all the way!

A parents worst nightmare – your children have been kidnapped and you have no way of raising the money demanded and you are haunted by the kidnappers taunts of what they will do to your kids if you don’t come up with the money! I loved Victoria as the mother – she was strong and determined to save her kids but God her husband Nicholas – no wonder his wife despised him!

Meanwhile Harry is approaching retirement and his new replacement John Campbell takes a more traditional approach to the job, a few feathers are bound to be ruffled as these two very different characters work together. By the end of the book Campbell was making my blood boil and I much preferred Harry’s unorthodox but definitely more honest approach to his work. The team is full of strong characters and I can definitely see this being a cracking series as the reader gets to know them all. I loved the hints to Harry’s background and what makes him tick and the things that keep him awake at night.

I thought this novel was a great combination of breath-holding moments combined with laughter as Harry provides some ace one-liners. Snatched from home has hooked me and I am dying for more!

4/5 from me!

Check the link below if you want to go buy this book now!

Graham Smith

Leave a Reply

