The Stepmother – Claire Seeber

30449430

Synopsis 

The perfect wife. A fairytale family. Don’t believe your eyes…

Jeanie and Matthew are a happily married couple who both have teenage children from previous relationships.

No one said it would be easy to raise a blended family under one roof but Jeanie and Matthew are strong. They will make it work.

And whilst Jeanie’s step-daughter Scarlett rejects her, Jeanie will just have to try harder to win her over.

But Jeanie has a past. A terrible secret she thought she’d buried a long time ago. And now, it’s coming to the surface, threatening to destroy her new marriage.

Someone is playing a terrifying game on Jeanie and she must put a stop to it once and for all.

After all, a fairytale needs a happy ending … doesn’t it?

My Review: 4/5

Thanks to Netgalley and Bookoture for the ARC in return for an honest review.

Well a dark and sinister remake of Snow White but without the cute dwarves and the forest animals (well there are animals but not sure what happens to them is the stuff of fairy tales!)
I had mixed feelings writing this review – I read this book in less than two days – there was something dark that grabbed me right from the start, I felt compelled to keep on reading! I was spooked at times, especially when I was in the house by myself and I desperately wanted to know where this was all going to end up. It had the killer hooks for me that’s for sure!
The characters were all quite believable and plausible and as I read through the book my thoughts jumped back and forward to each of them as the guilty party, there was no easy way to work out who was to blame.
The underlying theme of step families was brilliant, the twisted dynamics that can exist within families was dark, disturbing and compelling to read.
However there were a few irritations for me reading the book, a few issues that were left unexplained at the end and just too many hints throughout the book, too many secrets alluded to in each chapter – it would have worked better if some had been disclosed slowly throughout. It meant that for me the end was just wrapped up a bit too quickly and neatly.
I thought it was a dark, compelling and troubled tale of step families and their lives – recommend it to anyone who who loves psychological thrillers

Leave a Reply

