Cold Grave – Craig Roberston 4.5 stars

I happened across Craig Robertson purely by chance and really can’t believe I’ve missed out on such a brilliant Scottish author for so long! I love the Tony Winter series and number 3, Cold Grave, certainly doesn’t disappoint:

My Review 4.5/5

This is the 3rd in the Tony Winters series and features the cold case of a young girl found at the Lake of Monteith over 20 years ago.What I love about Craig’s books are the vivid description of the locations – with reference to actual shops, streets and bars and being a Glasgow girl myself I can picture the scene easily as I read. Cold Grave is no different – the reader gets a real sense of place throughout the book.

The relationship between Winters and DS Narey is no less complex than in previous books and this seems to be further hampered by Narey’s guilt at placing her father into care, Winters is left feeling like an onlooker at times – which is pretty representative of his role in the series as he is police photographer. While this series is police procedural I like that it is unique in that the main focus is on Winters. His obsession with capturing death on camera is known only to a few but suspected by others and I think this adds a fascinatingly macabre touch to the series.

And of course where would a Glasgow crime novel be without our gallows humour and Cold Grave doesn’t disappoint! 

Lots of twists and turns that keep the reader guessing throughout the book, brilliant character development that gets stronger as you read each book in the series and excellent sense of place for the reader as Craig takes you into the murkier sides of our city (and country) seats – 4.5 stars from me.

Leave a Reply

