Matching The Evidence – Graham Smith Blog tour

Can you imagine my excitement when my #Twinnie Noelle Holten contacted me and asked me if I’d consider taking part in the Blog Tour for Graham Smith’s forthcoming “Matching The Evidence”matching the evidence

Eh like I had to think twice about that! Not! After reading the amazing “Snatched from Home” I had absolutely no hesitation in agreeing to take part! And lucky me, Graham agreed to answering some questions for me for the blog tour!  

So it’s over to Graham to start with:

Graham Smith – Q&A

  1. What advice would you give to a female relative who told you they had started dating Harry Evans?

I would never normally presume to tell a female what to do in matters of the heart. But if I was drunk or otherwise feeling especially brave, I’d warn them he’s still very much in love with his deceased wife, has serious anger-management issues and is a borderline alcoholic.

 

  1. You are stranded on an island – who are the 3 people you would chose to have with you and why (and they have to be 1. a character from your book 2. a character from someone else’s book 3. A famous person)

This is a fun question. Number one would be Harry Evans, two would be DI Roberta Steel from the Logan MacRae series by Stuart MacBride and three would be Bear Grylls. The first two would be fantastic company and Bear Grylls would be great at making life comfortable.

 

  1. Describe yourself in 5 words

Fat, bald, passionate, hard-working and cynical.

  1. Are your characters in Snatched from Home based on anyone you know?

No one character is based on any one individual, but most of my characters have traits of people I have met, lived with, loved and hated.

  1. What is the most challenging aspect of being a writer?

For me it is finding the time and energy to write. My day job is general manager of a busy hotel and wedding venue and I have a wife and son to consider as well. There are certain times of the year when I don’t even try to write and instead I use the time to work out the shape of the next book.

  1. Who would you cast as Harry Evans in a TV adaptation of Snatched?

This is a really tough question to answer as I don’t watch a lot of TV or films. If I had to choose someone, I’d go for Rory McCann but he’d have to shave his head.

  1. Do you have any little quirks or rituals that you carry out when you write?

Not really. I tend to do 90% of my writing sat on the couch with the TV on in the background. One thing I am NOW strict about is social media. Since forcing myself to not have the Book of Faces open when writing my hour wordcount has risen dramatically.

  1. Which book do you wish you had written and why?

The Da Vinci Code. It’s a great story badly let down by its author.

  1. What are you reading right now?

The utterly excellent Streets of Darkness by A.A. Dhand

  1. You have to appear on a reality TV programme which one would it be and why?

I’d choose the Real Housewives of Cheshire which my wife watches as I’d like to tell all those spoiled women what utter conniving, insensitive bitches they are.

Thank you Graham for taking the time out to answer my questions. Having met the lovely Graham at Harrogate this year, I would need to add charming to his list on question 3, as he really is a charming gentleman!

Well after that – what were my thoughts on the book…

Synopsis:

Carlisle United are playing Millwall and the Major Crimes Team are assigned to crowd control as punishment for their renegade ways. Typically, DI Harry Evans has other ideas and tries to thwart the local firm’s plans to teach Millwall’s notorious Bushwhackers an unforgettable lesson. 

Meanwhile an undercover cop is travelling north with some of the Millwall contingent. His mission is to identify the ringleaders and gather evidence against them. 

Three illegal immigrants have been transported to Carlisle and are about to meet their new employers.

Nothing is as it seems for Evans and his Major Crimes Team as they battle to avoid a bloodbath while also uncovering a far more heinous crime.



My review:It’s a stomping 5 massive stars!

How much can you pack into a novella I wondered, would it leave me feeling slightly dissatisfied – feeling short changed? No it didn’t is the answer – it was jam packed, full to the brim with a bloody great plot that has left me screaming for MORE!

Matching the Evidence is short and punchy and it delivers a fair left hook in the subject matter, football violence and people trafficking – it had me on the edge of my seat throughout! It’s hard to believe that two such intense plots could be wrapped up in a novella but Graham Smith has definitely nailed it! I continue to fly the flag for #TeamEvans – Harry Evans is definitely the cop who likes to do things his own way! But he gets the answers and the results he’s looking for and the respect of his team! I think I am secretly a little bit in love with DI Evans (psst don’t tell my #Twinnie she will be mad!).

I just love how the team all gel together so well, despite their “non traditional” methods they all compliment each other brilliantly; the book picks up just after Snatched from Home so it feels realistic, we know Harry has the forthcoming trial to worry about, his enforced retirement from the police is playing heavily on his heart and he has been entrusted to break his new DI – John Campbell into the team; despite Campbell coming from a more orthodox approach, the 2 men work extremely well together, each with a secret admiration for the other and I think they make a bloody good team – so I’m hoping Harry isn’t put out too far to pasture in the forthcoming books.

I love the humour combined with the grittiness of the book, there is a real sense of “belonging” when you read this, you almost feel as though you are in the station or out on the job with the guys and that you are part of the team!

Matching the Evidence ticked all my #crimeobsession boxes – it was dark, gritty, strong flawed (but not stereotyped) characters, gallows humour and it dragged me into the plot refusing to deposit me until it had swallowed me up, chewed me and spat me right back out again! Roll on “I Know Your Secret” in October – a massive five stars from me guys!

 

Graham Smith Bio:

Graham Smith is married with a young son. A time served joiner he has built bridges, houses, dug drains and slated roofs to make ends meet. Since Christmas 2000 he has been manager of a busy hotel and wedding venue near Gretna Green, Scotland.

An avid fan of crime fiction since being given one of Enid Blyton’s Famous Five books at the age of eight, he has also been a regular reviewer and interviewer for the well-respected website Crimesquad.com since 2009

He is the author of four books featuring DI harry Evans and the Cumbrian Major Crimes Team.

Matching the Evidence

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Matching-Evidence-Major-Crimes-Team-ebook/dp/B01JJ5D1AC

Snatched from Home

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Snatched-Home-Would-Children-Harry-ebook/dp/B00U0GRQCY

Lines of Enquiry

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Major-Crimes-Team-Lines-Enquiry-ebook/dp/B00U0N3FG8

I Know Your Secret – Out October 2016

So if you want to buy the books for yourself you can pop on over to Amazon and get clicking!

 

Leave a Reply

