Mel Comley & Linda S Prather -Deception

 

I was delighted when Mel contacted me and asked me if I’d like to read and review the two latest books in her joint venture with author, Linda S Prather: Novella- Clever Deception and first in the series Tragic Deception. As a long standing fan of Mel I was only too happy to say yes!

 

Clever Deception:

Synopsis: Have you ever watched the light fade from someone’s eyes, Foxy? The pigment slowly, ever so slowly disappear?” 
The press call him the Escape Artist, and he is certainly living up to his name.

Sergeant Alexandra Fox has never come up against such a devious mind in her entire career. Ten young women, seven of them wives of fellow officers, have been found tortured and murdered. Every tiny lead fizzles out, and he revels in taunting them by phone, torturing them mentally as he forces them to listen to the screams of his victims.

Alexandra, is determined to catch him before he kills again, unaware that she’s become the object of his obsession until he issues one last threat: “I thought I would give you one warning. A chance to back away and leave the investigation. Don’t make me punish you.”

My Review: 3.5/5

Fast paced short read that gives you a heart stopping introduction to what has to come for Alex Fox in the next book! This novella will certainly whet your appetite as no punches are pulled about what lies ahead!

 

Tragic Deception:

Synopsis:

The first novel in the Deception series written by NY Times and USA Today authors Linda S Prather and M A Comley.

Seek liberty, Foxy, and you’ll find me.”

Sergeant Alexandra Fox came to America to find the man who had brutally murdered her sister. A man the press called The Escape Artist. Could a British Sergeant fit in with the NYPD? Not if Commander Patterson had anything to do with it.

Suspended with only two friends in America— Chief Brown, a long time family friend, and retired Sergeant Matt “Nobby” Adams, Alex has seven days to find three kidnapped babies, or look for a new job.

Her investigation leads her into a world of deception, that turns tragic before it even begins, and a helping hand from the one person she hated the most—The Escape Artist.

My Review: 4/5

Wow – read this in almost one sitting following straight on from Clever Deception; if you like your novels fast paced and twisty then this one is for you!

Alex Fox is now in New York having followed her sister’s killer in her quest to seek revenge; she is finding her role in NYPD difficult with a team who don’t seem to back her and boss who is determined to get rid of her; she is given one week to find 3 missing babies to secure a promotion to Detective and to keep her job and things just go manic from there! We see Alex build up a bond and learn more about what goes on behind the scenes in the police department, we see her hunt down and chase a complex ring of people behind the missing babies and we learn that perhaps Alex hasn’t been quite alone as she had thought she was – just who has been watching her?

Great fast paced read, keeps the adrenaline pumping and the brain ticking! Great start to the series ladies – great partnership!

Thank you to Mel and Linda for an ARC in return for an unbiased review

If you want to buy the books then pop on over to that Amazon Place and Get Clicking:-

Clever Deception

Tragic Deception

About the authors:

Linda S Prather: Born in Kentucky in 1955. I currently live in Lexington, Kentucky with my fiancé, Coby W. Fuson. I have two wonderful sons, Charles and Steven.

I have always loved reading and writing. And although perhaps not a great literary work, I loved and was inspired by Old Yeller. The characters in that book were real to me. When I started writing, it was my greatest desire to write characters that readers could love and hate, laugh and cry with.

 Knowledge was another love. I wanted to learn about everything. I studied metaphysics; delving into touch healing, dream analysis, meditation, and hypnosis. I received my associate’s degree in metaphysics in 1992 and continued from there to become a Certified Clinical Hypnotherapist. I spent several years studying the effects of hypnosis on cancer and pain. I taught meditation, dream analysis and self-hypnosis through Eastern Kentucky University’s Special Programs for four years. The power of the mind has always fascinated me. I’ve recently become a paranormal investigator, and love old houses that go bump in the night.

Linda’s Website

Mel Comely:New York Times, USA Today, Amazon Top 20 bestselling author, iBooks top 5 bestselling and #2 bestselling author on Barnes and Noble. Over one million copies sold world wide. I am a British author who moved to France in 2002, and that’s when I turned my hobby into a career. I’m fortunate to be represented by a top New York agent.

I share my home with two crazy dogs that like nothing better than to drag their masterful leader (that’s me) around the village.

Mel’s Website

 

2 thoughts on “Mel Comley & Linda S Prather -Deception

Leave a Reply

