The Food of Love – Amanda Prowse

 

Ok, yep this is not my usual genre as you all know by now I’m a bit of a sick and twisted crime thriller kinda girl but every now and then you have to take a wee step out of your comfort zone and take a chance on something a little bit different and my choice was to read Amanda Prowse’s The Food of Love as I have heard so many great things about this lady I thought it was time that I #PoppedMyProwseCherry

30333119

 

Synopsis:

A loving mother. A perfect family. A shock wave that could shatter everything.

Freya Braithwaite knows she is lucky. Nineteen years of marriage to a man who still warms her soul and two beautiful teenage daughters to show for it: confident Charlotte and thoughtful Lexi. Her home is filled with love and laughter.

But when Lexi’s struggles with weight take control of her life, everything Freya once took for granted falls apart, leaving the whole family with a sense of helplessness that can only be confronted with understanding, unity and, above all, love.

In this compelling and heart-wrenching new work by bestselling author Amanda Prowse, one ordinary family tackles unexpected difficulties and discovers that love can find its way through life’s darkest moments.

My Review: 5/5

Lots of people warned me to read this book with a box of hankies by my side, I didn’t pay heed as I’m usually quite strong when reading books and can distance myself – I was wrong! Hankies are definitely required.

However, I think I probably read this book from a different perspective from a lot of people, Lexi’s anorexia was harrowing to read about and as a mum it tore at my heart-strings but I read this book from the perspective of parents trying to parent a teen with a mental health condition and that is what had me blubbing.

I had already read some of the negative reviews and got mad because they all missed the point. Freya and Lockie didn’t always handle the situation in the way that they should have as parents – but your book wasn’t a guide to parenting a teen with anorexia – it was a story of the immense and intense internal struggle and conflict that is part of being a parent of a child with a mental health condition. The conflict, guilt, need to pander against the need to do what is right for your child, the well-meaning input from others about how it’s just about some tough love – all of it so very real and it is told from the heart in this book.

The only part I didn’t like was at the very end of the book as I kind of wanted to be left with more questions than I was – but maybe that’s just an indication of my twisted mind 😉

Yes if you are reading this book expecting a guide on how to deal with anorexia, or looking for examples of perfect parenting and parents understanding the root cause of anorexia and the need for control then you are going to be disappointed – but you know what I thought that this book showed a brilliant perspective of 2 parents struggling to deal with something that hit them like a bolt out of the blue, it showed the impact it has across a whole family and life and it was done with compassion, understanding and love. Did Freya and Lockie annoy me – of course they did as I so wanted them to be able to do right for Lexie and for Charlotte who was suffering from the impact too! But this book was a much more realistic approach to the actual feelings that parents and families go through.

I’d urge you to read this book but have a think of what perspective you are reading it from before you pick it up.

Thank you to Amanda Prowse and Lake Union Publishing for the ARC which I chose to read and give my unbiased review.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

