The Gift – Louise Jensen

32180692

 

Synopsis:

The perfect daughter. The perfect girlfriend. The perfect murder?

Jenna is seriously ill. She’s lost all hope of getting the heart transplant she needs to live. But just as her life is ebbing away, she receives a donor heart from a girl called Callie.
Who was Callie and how did she die? Jenna is determined to find out.

The closer Jenna gets to those who loved Callie, the more questions arise about her untimely death. Someone knows what happened to Callie. Why won’t they talk?

Jenna is about to uncover the truth, but it could cost her everything; her loved ones, her sanity, even her life.

My review: 5/5

Wow – what an emotional rollercoaster ride of a read #TheGift has just taken me on! Seriously I was having my own heart palpitations reading it! #TheGift had it all, psychological suspense, drama, conflict and a thought-provoking theme running through the book…I could not put it down!

I thought Louise’s development of Jenna as a character was exceptional. From the very beginning we could see that Jenna was faced with a number of difficult decisions to make – her relationship with Sam following the transplant and what her health meant for their relationship; the lack of trust of those around her who struggled to deal with her experiences following the transplant and her need to find closure for Callie’s parents following the death of their daughter. I felt torn at times as to whether or not she was making the right choices but could totally understand her compulsion to make them and I felt she was motivated by a desire to put things right for others as opposed to looking after herself. Jenna’s actions often go against protocol (e.g contacting donor’s family) and take risks with her personal safety and health but as a reader I could completely understand why she done this and what drove her to it. I hurt for her with her lack of trust of others close to her and I also felt myself getting angry at those who didn’t believe what she was going through. This book got my emotions all fired up that’s for sure!

There were many themes in this book; the issues around trust and lies, ethical consideration over contact with donor families, dynamics of family relationships and of course some suspicious deaths and dodgy characters but the most fascinating theme for me in #TheGift was the issue raised around cellular memory – where the donor recipient takes on the memories and thoughts of the donor following transplant – this is an absolutely FASCINATING concept and it sent me scurrying off to google to find out some more…this theme is bound to get folk talking!

#TheGift was an intense and compelling read – I couldn’t put it down. I had my own heart palpitations reading it and I found myself considering Jenna’s options as she was driven by her flashbacks and memories of a life she had never known, what would I have done, how would that feel – this book will seep into your skin and engulf your very being as you lose yourself within the pages. It is a beautifully written and thought-provoking read – don’t miss it!

Thank you to Netgalley and Bookoture for the ARC which I volunteered to read and to provide my honest review.

To pre-order this for release on Fri 16th Dec click the link below

The Gift – Louise Jensen

2 thoughts on “The Gift – Louise Jensen

Leave a Reply

