Written in the Scars- Mel Sherratt




Welcome to The Estate – where even the darkest times have their lighter moments…


Sometimes they’re visible. Sometimes they’re burdens that we carry around with us.

You can’t see Donna’s scars from a joke of a marriage.

You can’t see Lewis’s scars from his time in the army.

You can see Megan’s scars but she won’t let you.

And Mary can’t always remember how she got hers.

If the past could be erased to make a better future, we’d all want to do that, wouldn’t we? No matter how dangerous the consequences might be…

WRITTEN IN THE SCARS is the fourth book in The Estate Series but each one can be read as a standalone novel.

My Review: 5/5

Having recently had a Mel Sherratt binge, it was time for me to finish off The Estate series with the fourth book #WrittenInTheScars. There is just something about this series that draws me right in to its heart; it feels like settling down in a big comfy sofa when I open one of them up – living on the Mitchell Estate may not be a comfy life for some of the residents but I honestly feel as though I’ve been dropped into the middle of a community and have got to know and love the residents throughout the series.

Written in the Scars focuses on two families, the Adams and the Prophetts. Donna Adams is desperately trying to hold it all together as a single mum and a carer for her mum while Lewis Prophett is losing it all as he struggles to cope with PTSD after his 12 years in the army. Although the focus is on both these families, old familiar faces are always around the estate.

Mel has a real canny knack of writing characters and scenes that draw the reader in hook, line and sinker and this book is no different. Each of the characters are scarred visibly or otherwise and the impact of those scars is the thread running through the book. As a reader I felt an emotional connection with each of the characters, Donna I warmed to straight away – as a hard-working single mum she is trying to be there for everyone and to be the “fixer” for them all but she has little or no time for herself and so when she meets Owen he sweeps her off her feet. I found myself so caught up in Donna’s life and wept for her as the story progressed – she was dealt some serious blows in this book and I honestly felt like I lived next door to her and lived her life with her.

Lewis is on self destruct mode and risks losing everything, yet you cannot help feel for him as he describes the sounds in his head that never leave him alone, the sounds of war that make him terrified to sleep and drive him to drink and destructive behaviour – my heart went out to him and I so wanted him to reach out for help but also totally got the reasons he struggled to do so.

The Mitchell Estate is a tough place to live but it is also a community with a heart and this shines through in this series and challenges some of the preconceptions that people might have about people who live in Estates like this all over the country. It is an estate that will welcome you in as soon as you open the pages so long as you keep an open mind and don’t judge a book by its cover then you will be a welcome resident in the estate, so grab a cuppa, get yourself comfy and just walk on in!

Now I just need to hope that Mel brings out book number five soon!

To buy the Estate series then hop over to Amazon and get yourself clicking!

The Estate series Books 1-3

Written in the Scars (Book 4)



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.