Who says #BookClub is dull!

Well as some of you may know I’m a member of many online Book Clubs where I get the chance to get to know other readers, bloggers and authors and find out about all the wonderful things happening in the #WorldOfBooks

32

I’m involved in the admin of one of those clubs, #TBConFB (The Book Club on Facebook) and for the last wee while members have been involved in setting up #realtime get-togethers across the UK. As resident #SAS on #TBConFB (that’s resident Scottish Author Stalker) I’ve made it my mission to get our wee country on the map and yesterday was the first ever Scottish meet up #TBConFB hit Glasgow!

I’m not going to lie – I was sooooo nervous organising this – felt like a lot of responsibility resting on my shoulders plus meeting lots of folk I had never met before #EEEEK what was there to be scared about huh?! Well actually, as it turns out very little at all! The afternoon was a resounding success! We had over 30 members attend from across Scotland and soon our wee room in #TheCountingHouse was BUZZING as folk came together, some meeting up for the very first time and others catching up with some old friends.

And thank you to the generosity of the authors who came along for their donations to the prize draw and a massively special thank you to the wonderful and talented duo, Alan Jones and Owen Mullen who kindly (no I didn’t nag them at all!) agreed to do a special reading of #TheGruffalo (Glaswegian version of course!) You can see a recording of the brilliant performance over on my Facebook page….link is here! Absolute kudos to them both – they had never spoken to each other, never mind met each other and they done this with absolutely NO rehearsing at all! It was #Fab – I’m hiring them out for future performances – give me a call – they will do pretty much anything for a bag of chips on the way home 😉 Just kidding guys, you were awesome! My stars!

https://www.facebook.com/plugins/video.php?href=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.facebook.com%2Fsharonlovesbooks%2Fvideos%2F1616189545356593%2F&show_text=0&width=400“>Alan & Owen nail the Gruffalo, Glasgow Style

This might have been the very first  Glasgow meet but I have kind of got the feeling that it won’t be the last!

Thank you to each and every one of you who came along! It was a brilliant event and roll on #TBCGlasgow2018

4 thoughts on “Who says #BookClub is dull!

Leave a Reply

