Aye Write – Aye thank you – I will!

Image result for aye write

#AyeWrite first opened its doors in the Mitchell Library in Glasgow in April 2005 and it was an instant success. The festival is now an annual event in the Scottish #BookFestival calendar!

Glasgow is home to a number of brilliant authors and indeed the city is rich with ¬†inspiration for many a novel across all genres. According to festival organisers a part of is huge success is the fact that it fits itself around the lives of those who attend it with most of the events taking place in the evening and weekends, allowing as many people as possible to attend. As well as timing, location is important with events centred mainly around the Mitchell Library – an iconic building in the heart of the city and more importantly a book event taking place in the home of books, is just one way of encouraging ordinary people to consider making use of our city’s wonderful libraries. What can be more appealing than attending a book festival surrounded by the very products we are all there to hear about.

 

I’ve been attending Aye Write for the last 4 years now and this year is probably my first year of doing the event as a serious #Blogger. To me, literary festivals, are the highlight of my year and a must do for all lovers of books! They are the first dates entered into my calendar each year! What can be more exciting than going along to hear some old favourites at panel events, discovering a new author or meeting up with others who totally “get” your love of books and reading! The buzz I get from attending these events should be bottled up and sold! Aye Write has a special place in my heart – it takes place in my home town of Glasgow, it is small enough to be intimate, yet large enough to offer something for everyone; it is full of the Glesga patter and humour that is integral to the city and the location blows my mind everytime I enter this hallowed ground! I am delighted this year to be covering a number of the events on my blog and also featuring book reviews of some of the authors attending.

So, if you haven’t been to the festival before, or indeed if you haven’t ever been to a book festival, what are you waiting for! Jump on the bus or the underground and get yourself along to at least one of the events! And if you see me, please come and say hello! Us #BookPeopleAreTheBestPeople

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Aye Write – Aye thank you – I will!

Leave a Reply

