Aye Write – top picks of the festival!

 

aye-write-2017cWell, the countdown is now well and truly on to #AyeWrite March 2017 and I for one cannot wait!  This year, I have vowed to step outside my #CrimeFictionComfortZone and try at least one author (or event) new to me at each #BookEvent I attend this year (OK yes that will be difficult when I’m attending Crime Fiction events but at those I will endeavour to attend a panel event that doesn’t include any of the “bigger” names – you never know what gems you might find hidden!

Anyway back to #AyeWrite this year, I’m obviously delighted that Orenda Books headed up by the delightful, Karen Sullivan will be bringing Louise Beech and Michael J Malone  who are appearing with Doug Johnstone  to talk about their books….”Gripping Thrillers” : Sunday 12th March, Mitchell Library, 8.15pm-9.15pm (Tickets priced at £9)

“Doug Johnstone was shortlisted for the prestigious McIlvanney Prize for The Jump and will be here to discuss his latest Crash Land. Set against the brutal, unforgiving landscape of Orkney, this is a psychological thriller steeped in guilt, shame, lust, deception and murder. Exquisitely written and deeply touching, Louise Beech’s The Mountain in My Shoe is both a gripping psychological thriller and a powerful and emotive examination of the meaning of family…and just how far we’re willing to go for the people we love. Michael Malone’s A Suitable Lie, a novel about a deeply dysfunctional relationships garnered him some of the best reviews of his career. He’ll be talking about that book and his latest novel Dog Fight.” (Aye Write Brochure)

I am buzzing about attending this event! And of course I will be doing a wee blog post on the night!  I asked Michael and Louise to tell me what it is about Aye Write that they are looking forward to:

Michael JMalone:  “What better venue could they have in this amazing city than the beautiful Mitchell Library – and what a great cast of writers! This is a book festival that is going from strength to strength”

Louise Beech “This is my first trip to Scotland as an author, and my first ever to the glorious city of Glasgow. I can’t describe how excited I am to come from one cultured city (my home of Hull, 2017 City of Culture) to another. I know there’ll be a warm welcome, and I can’t wait to meet readers, share my words, and immerse myself.”

Exactly guys, what a venue, what a city, what an event! Glasgow awaits you with a smile!

I’ve read all of Michael’s books and my reviews can be found over on my blog page. I have also read “Mountain in My Shoe” by Louise Beech and it was one of the most emotive reads I’ve picked up in a long time.

To my shame, I haven’t yet read any of Doug’s books but a quick browse through his titles and I can tell you that I’m going to be remedying that VERY soon! Loving the look of Doug’s books and I am berating myself for not discovering him sooner!

As well as attending panel events, this year I thought I’d try something a wee bit more interactive and so I’ve plucked up the courage to book myself onto a place at one of the Creative Writing workshops that are being held throughout the festival! I’ve no illusions that I have a book inside of me but I want to give something different a go and I’m grabbing the bull by the horns….or the pencil by the lead and going for it….watch this space.

creative-writing.jpg

What about you….care to tell me what’s your number one choice for this year’s event…leave your comments below! And come back next week for my next top tips…something old and something new (don’t think #AyeWrite shows anything blue 😉

To book tickets to any of the events and to check out the #AyeWrite Brochure then please click below!

Aye Write Festival – tickets and information

2 thoughts on “Aye Write – top picks of the festival!

Leave a Reply

