Blogger Recognition Award

 

I am feeling very honoured and excited to have been nominated for the Blogger Recognition Award by fellow book blogger, Mairead O’Driscoll Hearne over at Swirl and Thread

It’s the first time my blog has been nominated for anything so I am absolutely #Buzzin! Thank you sooooooo much Mairead! <3<3

Now there are a few bits of housekeeping to be done before I can raise my award high so let me continue…

RULES OF THE AWARDS

1. Thank the blogger who nominated you and provide a link to their blog.

2. Write a post to show your award.

3. Give a brief story of how your blog started.

4. Give two pieces of advice to new bloggers.

*5. Select 15 other bloggers you want to give this award to.

*6. Comment on each blog and let them know you have nominated them and provide the link to the post you created.

How did I start blogging??

I am passionate about reading, I am passionate about everybody reading – I firmly believe that the world of books open up so many opportunities to us all – they instill a sense of adventure and a desire to explore our world; they provide escapism from the (sometimes) harsh reality of our everyday worlds; they educate us – we learn expression, the beauty and depth of language and facts about any subject under the sun.

When I first started reviewing books, I refused to share them publicly. I mean, who would want to read my reviews, they are not wordy literary critiques and who really cares what little old me thinks anyway. Besides if folk seen them they would just laugh at them wouldn’t they?

So when I set up my blog I didn’t share it or make it public, I just left it sitting there in the ethers of the t’internet world, after all, it was just a load of waffle really, wasn’t it?

Anyway, then I discovered online book clubs and was amazed at the interaction between authors and readers! Wow I thought, other people are keen to hear thoughts and views on books, whether it’s as a means of recommending a book as a reader, constructive feedback and that well needed pat on the back for authors and their publishers (and there is nothing wrong with that – as an employee it is always good to be told you have done a good job or to be given some constructive feedback on how you might develop further). So I started reading other people’s reviews as a means of finding new books to read (like I really ever needed to expand my TBR pile!) Wow, I thought, these are like just ordinary people writing just ordinary words about the books they have read – nobody seems to be laughing at them and they are getting great feedback about their reviews – and they are not academic literary masterpieces full of jargon and references (my uni days are long over and I don’t really want to go back to all that!) Hmmm, wonder if anyone would like any of my reviews I thought?

And then I took the plunge and shared one of my reviews from my blog – guess what – nobody laughed, people even liked it and commented on it, some folk even shared it…and other bloggers said “Well done you, good job” and that was me….I was hooked!

 

Two Pieces of Advice for New Bloggers:

  1. Learn to say no and don’t feel guilty! As a new blogger it is a huge buzz when those emails pop into your inbox and you are tempted just to say “yes yes yes” to every request! But stop! Think – is it your genre, is it a book you would choose to read? Does it appeal to you? Do you have time to read it? Can you meet the timescale requested (if a specific date is requested)? If the answer is no, then it is OK to say “sorry, but no thank you”. You mustn’t ever let your reading or your blogging become a chore!
  2. Don’t compare yourself to others – there are 1000s of blogs out there – all different shapes, sizes and styles – stay true to yourself and be your own wonderful self – it’s not a competition (and if it is then maybe you should re-evaluate your motivation for doing it ;)) The blogging community is a great community – there are loads of people to support you out there and they are all happy to do so. Make those connections and join in the fun – #BookishPeopleReallyAreTheBestPeople

 

Now this is the hard part…..selecting 15 Bloggers for the Blogger Recognition Award. There are so many wonderful bloggers each offering an exciting view into the books they have read as well as fab guest posts with authors and lot, lots more.

4 thoughts on “Blogger Recognition Award

Leave a Reply

