A Room Full of Killers – Michael Wood

32078405What the blurb says:

The third book in Michael Wood’s darkly compelling crime series featuring DCI Matilda Darke. Perfect for fans of Stuart MacBride, Mark Billingham and Val McDermid.

Eight killers. One house. And the almost perfect murder…

Feared by the people of Sheffield, Starling House is home to some of Britain’s deadliest teenagers, still too young for prison. Now the building’s latest arrival, Ryan Asher, has been found brutally murdered – stabbed twelve times, left in a pool of blood.

When DCI Matilda Darke and her team investigate, they uncover the secrets of a house tainted by evil. Kate Moloney, the prison’s manager, is falling apart, the security system has been sabotaged, and neither the staff nor the inmates can be trusted.

There’s only one person Matilda believes is innocent, and he’s facing prison for the rest of his life. With time running out, she must solve the unsolvable to save a young man from his fate. And find a murderer in a house full of killers…

My thoughts:

I absolutely LOVE the Matilda Darke series and I am delighted to say that this one is the best one yet!

A Room Full of Killers opens with a huge gut punch to the senses and doesn’t let up the pace all the way through! Within 24 hours of arriving at Starling House, Ryan Asher is found brutally murdered. There is one big issue…Starling House is a secure unit for some of the most violent and murderous teenagers in the UK and the only suspects are the other inmates and staff! The pressure mounts and tensions run high – I could literally feel it oozing out of the pages as I read! Seriously I struggled to put this book down! It kept me hooked right until the very end! I had no idea who the culprit was and the clever twists and turns throughout kept me guessing all the way through!

Can I just say, I love Matilda Darke, she has not had her troubles to seek throughout this series and A Room Full of Killers starts with her taking a more positive approach to her life – however – is this case the one that’s going to bring it all tumbling back down round about her? She’s a strong character with a real sense of justice and doesn’t mind bending the rules to ensure she sees it happen. I feel a real connection with her in every book I read.

Kate Maloney – I couldn’t work out whether to feel sorry for her or to reach into the pages and give her a good shaking! Seriously woman…what on earth was she thinking! Within Starling House there were a few key characters who made your skin crawl. With the young prisoners, I found it difficult, their crimes were awful, but there was a vulnerability about some of them that made you want to reach out to them…and at other times their actions scared the living daylights out of you.

Apart from murder most foul, A Room Full of Killers makes a short exploration over the Nature Vs Nurture debate and what makes children kill. It’s a fascinating area of study and one that gets those old brain cells ticking! Combined with revenge, secrets and lies this book has enough to keep the diehard psychological/crime thriller fans amongst us happy for the journey!

This is the darkest in the Matilda Darke series so far and has easily taken the top spot in my favourite of the series; it has everything I’m looking for in a book…exceptional characters, twisted plot lines, intrigue and twists galore! It left my head reeling and my heart racing and more importantly it left me demanding that Michael Wood hurries up and writes the next one….how can you leave me like this!

Thank you to Netgalley and the publishers for my ARC

To buy the book then head on over to Amazon and get clicking!

Leave a Reply

