#BlogTour – Owen Mullen – Old Friends & New Enemies

When #BloodhoundBooks contacted me to ask if I’d be interested in hosting a spot on the upcoming #BlogTour for Owen Mullen’s #OldFriendsNewEnemies I did not hesitate to say YES PLEASE! And when they then asked me to kick off the tour then you could hear the #SqueakyEEEEKS from miles away! Of course I wanted to and I was delighted to be involved in the relaunch of this #Cracking book! And as a special wee treat you will see that I have a video of Owen reading an excerpt from Old Friends and New Enemies! So for those who want to hear this in the dulcet Scottish dialect then get scrolling down and have a wee listen!

Old Friends And New Enemies: an explosive crime thriller by [Mullen, Owen]

 

What the blurb says:

“The body on the mortuary slab wasn’t who Glasgow PI Charlie Cameron was looking for. But it wasn’t a stranger. Ian Selkirk had been stabbed through the heart and dumped in the loch.
Suddenly, a routine missing persons investigation becomes a fight for survival as Charlie goes up against a notorious Glasgow gangster. Jimmy Rafferty is ruthless. Even his own family are terrified of him. He wants to use Charlie to get something for him. And Jimmy Rafferty always gets what he wants.
Only one problem.
Charlie doesn’t know where it is.”

See the video below for Owen reading an excerpt from “Old Friends And New Enemies”

My Review: 5/5

Plot Old Friends and New Enemies is the 2nd in the Charlie Cameron series and it is a  gripping, gritty and dark Scottish crime novel that takes the reader on a murderous journey from the scenic shores of Loch Lomond to the dark underbelly of Glasgow streets as Charlie comes up against one of the city’s most ruthless gangsters. Catching up with an old flame brings grief for Charlie and adds even more grit and drama to the story line.

The book flows well and there is plenty of action and twists to keep the reader enthralled throughout as

We are reintroduced to some old characters from #TheGamesPeoplePlay; his old friend and on/off assistant, the lovable rogue Patrick Louge, Jackie, the manager of NYB and DI Andrew Geddes. The relationships between them are not without their flaws but they are strong central characters to the series and in Old Friends we see the relationships develop further and the characters are fleshed out. Patrick, is a right wee character indeed, he might be a bit of a drinker which infuriates Charlie at times but he has a heart of gold.

I loved Charlie Cameron, as a character he has his flaws but these just serve to make him “real”, he is determined to get to the bottom of things even though it puts his own life in danger. Characters are a huge hook for me in a book and I need to engage or connect with them on some level to enjoy the book – Owen Mullen nailed this for me – I care about Charlie, I want to know more about him, I want to know what drives him, what feeds his appetite and where he is heading in the future.

I love a book where I feel that I am “in the streets” with the characters and this book gave me that – I honestly felt that I was in NYB with Charlie at times and I have a picture in my head of what it looks like!  When a writer can transport me to the location of the book and assault my senses with the sights and the sounds then they have nailed it! This is a must in a book for me and Owen achieved it for me!

It’s fair to say that I’m loving this series, having a Private Investigator as the lead character is an interesting diversion in crime fiction and it’s working well; based in my home town of Glasgow it picks me up and drops me in the centre of the action, the pace is fast, the plots intriguing and the characters engaging – tell me – what is not to like! Roll on book 3 Mr Mullen!

 

To buy your own copy of this fab book then head over to Amazon and get clicking!

 

5 thoughts on “#BlogTour – Owen Mullen – Old Friends & New Enemies

Leave a Reply

