The One – John Marrs

 

33287119What the blurb says:

How far would you go to find THE ONE?

One simple mouth swab is all it takes.

One tiny DNA test to find your perfect partner – the one you’re genetically made for.

A decade after scientists discover everyone has a gene they share with just one person, millions have taken the test, desperate to find true love.

Now, five more people take the test. But even soul mates have secrets. And some are more shocking – and deadlier – than others…

A psychological thriller with a difference, this is a truly unique novel which is guaranteed to keep you on the edge of your seat.

My review:

Every now and then you find an author who bowls you over and with each of John Marrs’ books I’ve been knocked off my feet – but this one #TheOne threw me down, spun me round and sent my brain straight into orbit! From page one I was hooked and read this in less than a day!

We follow five people who have all been DNA matched with their perfect partner and each short, sharp but powerful chapter is evidence of the brilliance that is John Marrs mind! A taut and compelling pace will keep you gripped from the start to finish!

I found myself drawn to each character as they unfolded, keen to know what secrets they were hiding and what steps they would take to ensure they were with their perfect match. The short chapters meant it was easy to keep up with the characters and remember who was who (so don’t be panicking at the beginning if you feel that a whole cast has just been flung at you!). It had my mind whirling as I went from empathy to anger back to empathy with each of them throughout the story. Each individual has strengths and flaws and the dilemma’s and conflicts they face will have your mind working overdrive as you work out what you would do if it was you!

Genetic matching is the main theme explored throughout #TheOne and John Marrs has done this so cleverly – as a reader I quickly became caught up in each character’s dilemma as I pondered how I’d react. You’d think with all this DNA matching that #TheOne would be full of perfect people – well don’t be fooled – we all have our little secrets to hide and some more than others!

A tense psychological thriller that will give you food for thought – with advances in science it is not beyond the realm of possibility that genetic matching could become a reality and in fact it’s already been talked about out there – just google DNA dating sites! It really did have my brain ticking over – would I do it – possibly? Did this book scare the living daylights out of me at the thought of it – definitely – would I recommend this book to you to read….ABSOLUTELY!

Thank you to Netgalley and publishers for the ARC.

To purchase the book then click below:

3 thoughts on “The One – John Marrs

  1. I love that there’s a bit of science in this book. Never thought I’d say that, haha, but the idea sounds so good. It’s definitely a good edge to ponder on, I mean, science progresses every day so what if this could happen… The book is waiting for my on the Kindle, I can’t wait to read it. Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

