#BlogTour – The Abattoir of Dreams – Mark Tilbury

When Mark and #BloodHoundBooks contacted me and asked me to be a part of the #BlogTour for #TheAbattoirOfDreams, I was intrigued by the #blurb – “A disturbing thriller with a supernatural twist” – well that piqued my interest! How could I resist! And after having actually devoured the book in less than 24 hours then I’m glad that I didn’t!

What the blurb says:

Michael Tate wakes up from a coma to find he’s been accused by the police of murdering his girlfriend. Stabbed her twenty-one times with a kitchen knife. Now he’s paralysed from the waist down, and suffering amnesia after leaping forty feet from the top of a block of flats. Michael is interviewed by Detective Inspector John Carver, a man who is both corrupt and abusive. A man who knows so much more about Michael’s past than anyone could ever imagine.

Then the pusher comes. A ghostly entity that takes Michael on a series of journeys in a wheelchair. Back to relive the parts of his past that have led to his terrible injuries and the death of his girlfriend.

With the help of his friend, Jimmy, Michael starts to piece together what has happened. From his childhood to the recently attempted suicide, Michael discovers a past littered with betrayal, murder, physical and mental abuse, friendship and triumph.

My review:

When Michael wakes up in hospital, he has no idea how he got there or why he is being accused of murdering his girlfriend; all he knows is that he is paralysed from the waist down and has no memory of anything at all. DI Carver takes great delight, in what can only be described as torturing Michael with probably the most unorthodox investigation techniques ever! But someone is determined to help Michael piece together his memory and he is taken on a series of ghostly “journeys” in which he is taken through his dark and horrifying past. This plot might seem a bit “out there” at first – but please stick with it, because this is an epic, dark and twisted rollercoaster ride of a read. It is fast paced filled with scenes and dialogue that will have you breaking your heart to screaming from the rooftops for justice to be done!

OK, granted the main theme of this book – abuse – in particular abuse of children is not candy floss reading – it’s hard-hitting and emotional – it punches you right in the guts and leaves you winded – and so it should – this abuse was and is real for so many and it is right that reading a book like this leaves you both distraught and angry!

The characters in the book grabbed my heart – I truly lived their lives with them reading through. DI Carver – the torturous death I pictured for him is not for publication! Ohhhh Michael – seriously my heart was torn out reading his journeys – the wasted opportunities for him to be saved; the adults who let him down and horrors he faced, I wanted to reach into the pages and rescue him! Liam – I loved – he was not willing to stand back and let the bad guys win and I cheered for him throughout, what a strong and determined character! Oxo – although I’m a dog lover – I don’t usually mention animals in my reviews – but seriously – Oxo the dog – the scenes with him and Michael melted my heart – I was literally mush reading them!

OK, I’m not going to lie, when I first started reading the book, I wondered what I’d let myself in for – it seemed pretty “out there” what with the sadistic DI and the “ghostly pusher” hmm, I thought after Michael’s first “journey” – is this going to be my cup of tea – is it just a bit too much suspension of belief for me? Well let me tell you right now – get yourself on that “journey” because each one draws you in further to the living hell that was Michael Tate’s past and each one just wraps the story up tighter and tighter. But be warned – this is not a book for the faint-hearted. I was #FreakedOut #Terrified #Weeping but completely gripped at the same time! #AbattoirOfDreams will drag you in, chew you up and spit you out the other end an emotional wreck!

Image result for mark tilbury author

Author Info.
Mark lives in a small village in the lovely county of Cumbria, although his books are set in Oxfordshire where he was born and raised.

After serving in the Royal Navy and raising his two daughters after being widowed, Mark finally took the plunge and self-published two books on Amazon, The Revelation Room and The Eyes of the Accused. He’s always had a keen interest in writing and is currently working on his third novel, The Abattoir of Dreams.

When he’s not writing, Mark can be found trying and failing to master blues guitar and taking walks around the beautiful county of Cumbria.

To buy #TheAbattoirofDreams click on the link below:

The Abattoir of Dreams – Mark Tilbury

 

No automatic alt text available.

2 thoughts on “#BlogTour – The Abattoir of Dreams – Mark Tilbury

Leave a Reply

