#BlogTour -The Place that Never Existed – Jim Ody

Huge thanks to Emma Mitchell of #Emmathelittlebookworm and Jim Ody for inviting me to host a spot on the #BlogTour for #ThePlaceThatNever Existed.

The Place That Never Existed by [Ody, Jim]

 

What the blurb says:

For Paul and Debbie, it was meant to be the happiest time of their lives – a small village wedding in front of their family and friends, followed by a quiet honeymoon in Devon. Not everyone was happy to see them together. Someone from the past was intent on ending their marriage before it had really started. Now, supposedly away from it all in a picturesque log cabin, Paul and Debbie find themselves in the midst of mysterious happenings. Unexplained disappearances with people turning up dead and all of it centred on the site of a horrific murder. A place the locals wish was a place that never existed.

My thoughts:

Well, that prologue just freaked me right out! It made me think of the Blair Witch Project and my goosebumps had goosebumps reading it! I took this book thinking it was a crime/psychological thriller but to be honest I think you would struggle to place this in a genre box as it has a little bit of everything from crime to thrills and throws in a little bit of a “whoa WTF” moments with an element of something not quite of this world about it! It moved at a quick pace and kept an element of surprise in each chapter so the reader is left feeling compelled to read on and see where this journey is taking them! I’m not sure that I liked or understood the ending, I had to re-read it to work it out but on reflection, I do think it ties in with the overall feeling of the book.

Hidden secrets in a small, backwater location underly this novel but there is an element of humour in there and it had me chuckling along the way a few times; it is also quite surreal at times as we are introduced to a variety of characters each a little stranger than the last but all with a role to play in the book.

Paul’s ex-girlfriend, Christine, was seriously off the radar crazy and I found myself wishing she had a deeper involvement in the storyline, although where she featured I found myself thinking of  #FatalAttraction! Jez, who was Debbie’s brother, I thought was hilarious, he and Robin had me laughing all the way through – although I couldn’t work out if Robin was friend or foe. The main characters, Debbie and Paul, were the ones I least warmed to – they just seemed superfluous to the story for me – almost a conduit to the main storyline of the mystery behind the abandoned house.

I’m not sure how #ThePlaceThatNeverExisted left me feeling – on one hand it creeped me out and I was afraid to go to sleep with the lights off…found myself shouting #DontGoInToTheBloodyHouse a few times at characters; on the other hand it had me chuckling at the strange antics that occurred throughout the story…the characters that randomly popped up throughout, all quite bizarre but amusing nonetheless. It was a surreal experience at times is how I think I’d describe my overall reading experience, I was afraid, amused and amazed throughout and I think this book would translate very well into a Blair Witch type of film.

Author Bio

As a child Jim wanted to be a truck driver – more specifically Kris Kristofferson in the movie ‘Convoy’, however somehow this never happened, nor did he ever smuggle moonshine in Hazzard County, find treasure with his buddies in the Goondocks, or hunt sharks on Amity Island. He did win ‘The Spirit Of Judo’ award as a seven-year-old, and have published his design of a ‘Dog-Walking Machine’ in an English textbook at the age of ten; so every cloud and all of that…
Jim has had poems and articles published on a number of websites, and for eight years, was a weekly music reviewer for a popular music website where he got to meet bands and see free gigs.

Jim has published two books ‘Lost Connections’ and ‘The Place That Never Existed’, and had his short story, ‘The Moth In The Jar’ selected and published in the charity anthology ‘Dark Minds’.

Jim lives with his wife and three children in Swindon, Wiltshire, and is currently writing his next novel ‘A Cold Retreat’ (due out in summer 2017); and more than likely eating chocolate. And watching football.

Author Photo (1).jpg

 

TPTNE Tour Banner.jpg

One thought on “#BlogTour -The Place that Never Existed – Jim Ody

Leave a Reply

