#AyeWrite: Gripping Psychological Thrillers

AWreplacementlogo2

Well, my final event at #AyeWrite2017 and I’m not going to lie, I am feeling a little sad that it’s over for another year! For just over a week The Mitchell Library has been my second home and it really has been a blast of a week!

Today my panel event was entitled “Gripping Psychological Thrillers” and it was CL Taylor in conversation with Michael J Malone (Honestly Michael, I’ve not been stalking you this week!). Sarah Pinborough had been meant to attend but unfortunately had to cancel. I settled myself down in my seat as I’ve been patiently waiting for this event having read all of CL Taylor’s books…and I was NOT disappointed – what followed was an hour of in-depth and fascinating conversation and insight expertly led by Michael…it was so in-depth that Cally actually advised Michael that he would make an excellent therapist!

Cally’s books have all been Sunday Times bestsellers and have sold over 900,000 copies and her fourth psychological thriller, The Escape,  is published on the 23rd March 2017. Cally told the audience that each of her psychological thrillers (The Accident, The Missing, The Lie and The Escape) have all been based on very real fears and some real life experiences are thrown in there too! Ask her to tell you about her meditation weekend in Brighton!

We had an excellent insight into the inspiration for The Missing, which was the story of Agatha Christie’s famous disappearance following the death of her mother and the discovery of her husband’s affair – initially thought of as suicide, Agatha turned up safe and well in The Old Swan Hotel, Harrogate, following a period of dissociative amnesia.

When it comes to writing Cally is very much a plotter and was most aghast at Michael’s very “panster” approach to writing his novels, however, Cally has been writing since 8 years old and indeed sent her first submission to Ladybird at the tender age of eight! Thankfully for us readers,  she did not allow her early rejection put her off writing!

This event flowed so naturally, it was like sitting eavesdropping into a fascinating conversation and (yes I know I’ve said it before and I am going to say it again!) I could have sat for hours and just listened and soaked it up like a sponge! This is the first time I have seen Cally speak and it won’t be my last!

I got a chance to chat with Cally after the event and she is such a down to earth lady. And a huge eeeeeeeeek moment when Michael gave me the proof copy of Cally’s new book #TheEscape – I cannot wait to read this one! And I cannot wait until #NewcastleNoir to see Cally again!

IMG_5435

And of course as it was the last #AyeWrite event, I had to come away with a book haul didn’t I! Massive thank you to Michael for acquiring me an #AyeWrite #GreenRoom bag and our wee chat after the event – #WhenWeRuleTheWorld…

Huge thanks to Aye Write for my passes as a blogger to some events this year, it was much appreciated; thank you to all the authors for putting up with my stalking at yet another festival; to all the book club members who came along to events and supported this BRILLIANT festival and to the organisers of #AyeWrite for making it quite possibly the best year yet! Here’s to #AyeWrite2018

 

Image result for haste ye back

 

 

Leave a Reply

