#BlogTour “After She’s Gone” Maggie James

A huge thank to Noelle over at #ThickAsThievesPublicity for inviting me to host a spot on the #BlogTour for #AfterShesGone by Maggie James. I looked at the cover and the blurb and I just couldn’t resist!

32596882

This is the blurb I was sent and it intrigued me right away!

Lori Golden’s family have had more than their fair share of troubles. But through it all, Lori and her sister, Jessie, have always supported each other. Then Jessie is killed. And Lori’s world turns upside down.

Devastated, Lori struggles to cope with her loss and to learn to live in a world without her bright, bubbly sister by her side. Around her, her already fractured family start to fall apart. And, as Lori and her mother try to pick up the pieces of their shattered lives, secrets long thought buried are coming painfully to light.

Faced with the unthinkable, Lori is forced to ask herself how well she really knows those who are left behind…

My review:

Lori Golden’s family is torn apart when her younger sister, Jessie, is found murdered. At the same time an arsonist is burning down buildings across Bristol, can the two be linked and what more will Jessie’s murder uncover and just how much can one family take. This book started with one hell of a hook, murder and arson! After this high impact opening, I wasn’t quite sure where the book was heading and I felt that it was going to be a little slow for my liking…but OH BOY was I soooo wrong! A few chapters in and my head was spinning as I jumped from character to character suspecting each and every one of them of murder and arson! Who was telling me the truth, who could I believe and did I even trust any of them!

Lori is the main narrator of “After She’s Gone” and as a reader, you could genuinely feel her hurt and her confusion as she struggled not only to deal with her own grief but also with her mother who was spiralling into a hell we don’t even want to imagine! Added to that, Lori begins to suspect all those around her of being involved in her sister’s murder and her fear is rising as she realises she and her mother may also be at risk! I really connected with Lori and felt so sorry for her – I felt the others in her life placed her under so much pressure to deal and cope with all that was happening, I was rooting for her all the way through the book!

Dana, Lori and Jessie’s mother irritated me…I’m sorry #mybad I know I should have felt her grief and got where she was coming from but at times I wanted to shake her and say…open your eyes and look at your daughter shrinking before you woman! I did feel for her but I struggled to like her and this intensified as the book progressed.

I don’t want to talk too much about the other characters for fear of spoilers but they all played a part in putting a pressure of some sort or other upon Lori. For those falsely accused I had pity – but boy was it hard to work out where my suspicions were wrong!

After She’s Gone explores secrets and lies and what a devastating impact they can have when we don’t open up to those we love.

This book had my head reeling, I ricocheted from suspect to suspect, glowering at them all as I turned the pages. I keenly felt Lori’s anguish and grief and her confusion, fear and mistrust as she struggled to deal with the descent into hell going on around her! I wanted to step into the pages and rescue her! I was so glad of a long train journey as I got half way through the book as I was able to settle myself down and finish it without any distractions! So what started slowly for me, quickly picked up the pace and dragged me screaming along with it!

About the author:

829 resized 2 (1).png

Maggie James is a British author who lives in Bristol. She writes psychological suspense novels. Before turning her hand to writing, Maggie worked mainly as an accountant, with a diversion into practising as a nutritional therapist. Diet and health remain high on her list of interests, along with travel. Accountancy does not, but then it never did. The urge to pack a bag and go off travelling is always lurking in the background! When not writing, going to the gym, practising yoga or travelling, Maggie can be found seeking new four-legged friends to pet; animals are a lifelong love!

Author Links:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/MJamesFiction/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/mjamesfiction

Goodreads Author Page: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/828751.Maggie_James

Blog: http://www.maggiejamesfiction.com/blog

Website: http://www.maggiejamesfiction.com

Purchase Link (will take you to any amazon site world-wide)

http://smarturl.it/aftershesgone

After She's Gone BLOGAfter she's gone blog tour pic.png

Leave a Reply

