#BlogTour: After The Affair: Jonathan Kaye

After the Affair: A fast-paced, thrilling page-turner you won't be able to put down. by [Kaye, Jonathan]

Thank you to Helen at Baatyaboutbooks and Jonathan Kaye for the ARC of #AfterTheAffair and the opportunity to participate in the #BlogTour

What the blurb says:

“University Lecturer David Ryan is having an affair. And he thinks no-one knows.

He’s wrong. Someone does know. And that someone is out to blackmail him.

But when the blackmail attempt goes wrong, both Ryan and the blackmailer find themselves dragged into an underground (and decidedly seedy) world of secrets, lies and violence. A world where no-one can be trusted and everyone has something to hide.

Set in modern-day Dublin, ‘After the Affair’ is the unputdownable debut thriller from author Jonathan Kaye.”

My review:

#AfterTheAffair opens up with a prologue that just hooks the reader before moving forward a year. When David Ryan finds the dead body of the woman he has been having an affair with, it quickly becomes clear that he is being set up for a murder he did not commit. He joins forces with the blackmailer to uncover the answers that lay behind her death.

I struggled a little with the middle of the book as for me it felt like there was just a little too much unnecessary padding, however, the plot line intrigued me enough that I was compelled to keep reading and I am glad that I did! The pace soon picked up again and as a reader, I was steamrolling my way through it with plenty of twists and turns to keep me on edge!

David Ryan has been caught out having an affair and is panicking about his wife finding out. He irritated the living daylights out of me, if I am to be honest. I thought he was weak-willed and completely stupid at times in the actions he took, not sure if I’d want him to be fighting my corner! I really did find myself wanting to give him a shake!

Martin Hayes brought it back for me, he’s an IT expert with a pretty dodgy past and at the beginning I believed he was a bit of a bad’un – but he’s not – he is a loveable rogue who lives life on the edge and all I can say thank goodness David hooked up with him. Martin intrigued me and I’d like to see more of him!

Oh, and we get introduced to some very nasty characters throughout the book – ones you would not want to get hooked up with! We also have a very unreliable narrator in one of the characters but I’m saying no more about this – no #Spoilers here!

#AfterTheAffair explores some very dark topics, we have lies and deception but entangled into this mix is exploitation and paedophilia – however, Jonathan has not been gratuitous in his writing and the topics are covered without any gory detail but enough to ensure the reader is hooked and yelling for justice!

#AfterTheAffair was a compelling psychological thriller, it dragged out a little in the middle for me but perfect for those who love detailed description and characterisation. However, it was a well-written debut that did keep me reading and hooked me at the start and then again towards the conclusion. Lots of twists and turns none of which I saw coming! It certainly kept me guessing right to the final few chapters! I’d say it is well worth giving this one a read folks!

JK-TOur (2) (1)

 

Leave a Reply

