#BlogTour: Graham Smith: Watching The Bodies

Watching the Bodies cover

What the blurb says:

When Jake Boulder is asked by his PI friend to help investigate the vicious murder of Kira Niemeyer, he soon finds himself tracking a serial killer who selects his next victim in a most unusual manner.

As the body count rises, Boulder has to work with the police to identify the heinous killer before more lives are taken. What ensues is a twisted game of cat and mouse, that only Boulder or the Watcher can survive.

My Review:

As Jake Boulder and Alfonse Devereaux start their investigations it soon becomes clear that the first victim, Kira, had some dark secrets – but were these what led to her murder? The body count continues to rise as The Watcher is unable to stop himself. Hired by Kira’s family to investigate her murder, Boulder and Alfonse are soon asked by the Chief of Police, Watson, to assist the department as it becomes clear to him that his own police team leave a lot to be desired when it comes to investigations! The race is on to catch the Watcher before the body count rises further.

Watching The Bodies is a fast paced, heart stopping and eye-popping read! It has a #KillerHook of an opening which places the reader as an unwitting voyeur as we watch the discovery of a body through the eyes of the #TheWatcher. Where chapters are narrated by the Watcher then the reader is pitched into the mindset of this individual and it made my skin crawl as I felt him worm his way under my skin. The body count is spiralling and his method of choosing how each one will die is novel (*takes note for future reference!*) This book was glued to my hands from the start to finish! I think I probably devoured it!

Well, I wasn’t really sure if I was ready for a new man from Graham Smith, given my #girlcrush on Harry Evans but when Jake Boulder rolled (yep terrible pun, I know!) into town he set my heart a pumpin that’s for sure!

Jake Boulder is cocksure and a little bit arrogant – we see this evidenced when he asks the new Chief in town “do you know who I am” But he wins my heart every time – he’s Scottish and Glaswegian by birth – hell what is not to like about that! I loved the references smattered throughout to Glaswegian slang – when he was in Hollywood and denounces Weeper as a “bawbag” I was howling! I love the Glesga patter!

Oh but his mammy! Oh, Boulder might be able to handle himself but his mum she knows just how to get to him! I could just see her, despite her years away from Glasgow, as one of those tough wee Glasgow mammies keeping her boy in line! There is so much to find out about Boulder and The Watcher just gives us a flavour of what’s to come!

Hmm, Leutienent Farrage (loved the name!) is not someone who Jake is going to get on with – I’ll be interested to see how this relationship develops throughout the series!

Watching The Bodies gives you twists and turns, a psychopathic serial killer all wrapped up with some violent deaths and neatly wrapped up by one of the newest Bad/Good guys in town!

You know that way a new book or series just slips into your mind and you relish the opportunity to get to know the characters, their strengths and their weaknesses…well Watching the Bodies is one of those books. We are given ample opportunity to find out all about Jake and what makes him tick and by the time I was finished I knew Graham Smith had left me wanting to find out more! A must read page turner that will compel you to read way beyond your bedtime! An awesome start to a new series and all I can say is roll on book number two!

watching the bodies quote banner

 

 

https://www.facebook.com/grahamnsmithauthor/?fref=ts

https://www.grahamsmithauthor.com/

https://twitter.com/GrahamSmith1972?lang=en-gb

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Graham-Smith/e/B006FTIBBU/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_1?qid=1491159376&sr=8-1

watching the bodies blog tour

One thought on “#BlogTour: Graham Smith: Watching The Bodies

Leave a Reply

