#BlogTour – Tag You’re Dead: Douglas Skelton

tag-your-dead

 

When I was asked did I want to be part of the #BlogTour for Douglas Skelton’s new book #TagYoureDead I didn’t even need to think for a nano second! Hell yeah of course I did! Douglas is one of my top #ScottishCrimeWriters and if you haven’t read any of his books then I’d suggest you get yourself over to a bookseller and get yourself one (actually ALL of them!) now!

Massive thanks goes out to #SarabandBooks and Douglas Skelton for my ARC and to Gordon over at grabthisbook for arranging the #BlogTour and to you all for asking me to be a part of it!

What the blurb says:

Sam the butcher is missing, and maverick investigator Dominic Queste is on the case. But it’s not because he misses Sam’s prize-winning steak pies… A dangerous man has arrived in Glasgow. He’s no small-town crook, and he’s leaving a trail of disturbing clues across the city, starting with the missing cousin of Queste’s new lover. Amidst a twisted game of cat and mouse, suspicious coppers and a seemingly random burglary at the judge’s house, Queste has to keep his wits about him. Or he might just find himself on the butcher’s block.

My review:

Once again Douglas nails it with a killer hook of a prologue! It provides the reader with the hint of the menace to come and whets your appetite for the journey ahead. It’s a dark and twisted, yet humorous journey you will be taken on as Dominic is on the hunt for missing butcher, Sam, cousin of Dominic’s current love interest, Ginty. The hunt for Sam uncovers some very dodgy dealings and links to some real unsavoury underworld characters.Not just one plot but also other seemingly unconnected murders and burglaries are all cleverly weaved into the novel, taking the reader on a twisted chase until the bitter end.

Douglas provides the reader with plenty of local references which create the sense of place that engage me with a book right away! Every time I read one of Douglas’ books I’m transported onto the streets of my hometown of Glasgow. There is just something about Douglas’s writing that brings the scenes in his books to life for the reader.

Scotland and Glasgow in particular, is famous for its Gallows humour and Tag You’re Dead does not disappoint one little bit – only in Glasgow can you laugh as you read about brutal murder! I actually think I snorted a few times reading this book! Be warned, even the most zealous of vegetarians are going to be tempted by the steak pies mentioned throughout the book!!

In Tag You’re Dead, Dominic has a new love interest in Ginty (how dare he cheat on me already – we are only two books in man!). Ginty helps bring out another side to Dominic and we see, dare I say it, a more sensitive side to our maverick investigator which only serves to draw the reader closer to him. I felt that I really got to know more about Dominic in TAG with plenty of references to his previous life as an addict.  We start to work out just what makes him tick and where his vulnerabilities lie. His relationship with the Police is further explored throughout the book and we begin to understand why he mistrusts them so much.

Father Verne runs the shelter for homeless and those with addictions along with the Sutherland brothers, Duncan and Hamish, as his sidekicks. We were first introduced to this trio in The Dead don’t Boogie and they are key characters again in Tag – I absolutely LOVE this trio – an unlikely but deadly match – I’ll tell you I’ve never met a priest like Father Verne in my life!

Shayleen and Cody also make a return from The Dead Don’t Boogie.  Both hopelessly addicted to heroin, Cody has manipulated his sister into selling her body to pay for their habit, Father Verne is determined to get Shayleen back on the straight and narrow but will she be able to resist the lure of “the brown”. This pair evoked a real sense of empathy from me, I empathised with their plight and found myself willing them to beat their demons.

When I read #TheDeadDontBoogie I was still mourning the loss of Davie McCall and hadn’t quite forgiven Douglas for cruelly snatching him away from me, I wasn’t sure that I was ready to accept the embrace of another character, was Dominic Queste the man for me? Well let me tell you after reading Tag You’re Dead then I’m ready and willing and like the fickle little madam I am, I have taken Dominic into my heart! I got a real sense that Douglas Skelton has found himself at home writing this series, the words, the humour and the backdrop all seem to effortlessly flow from the pages If you like Scottish crime fiction and are partial to a little dark humour in your life then you are going to love this book!

Raymond Chandler meets Glasgow gangland:  Dominic Quest is a breath of humorous fresh air in what is a dark, fast-paced, one liner wisecrack of a read!

To buy the book then head on over to Amazon and get those fingers clicking!

Tag You’re Dead: Douglas Skelton (Amazon Link)

About Douglas:

Douglas Skelton

Douglas Skelton has published 11 books on true crime and history. He has been a bank clerk, tax officer, shelf stacker, meat porter, taxi driver (for two days), wine waiter (for two hours), reporter, investigator and editor.
His first thriller BLOOD CITY was published by Luath Press in 2013.
The gritty thriller was the first in a quartet set on the tough streets of Glasgow from 1980 onwards. It was followed by CROW BAIT, DEVIL’S KNOCK and finally OPEN WOUNDS, which was longlisted for the first McIlvanney Prize for Scottish Crime Book of the Year.
The first Dominic Queste thriller, THE DEAD DON’T BOOGIE, is now available from Contraband. The second, TAG – YOU’RE DEAD, will be published in April 2017.Author Web Page:https://http://www.douglasskelton.com/

Twitter:

@DouglasSkelton1

Facebook:
https://www.facebook.com/pages/Douglas-Skelton/392586620751792

 

 

tag blog tour

One thought on “#BlogTour – Tag You’re Dead: Douglas Skelton

Leave a Reply

