No Safe Home: Tara Lyons

33877775I’ve had “No Safe Home” sitting on my book shelf for a while and I’ve only just got round to reading it! Safe to say that I devoured it in less than 24 hours and Tara Lyons – you gave me the fear as I read it when I was in the house myself! This is the 2nd in the DI Hamilton series (The first being the self published “In The Shadows”) and it is also Tara’s first book to be published by Bloodhound Books. It can easily be read as a standalone.

What the blurb says:

Detective Inspector Denis Hamilton is haunted when the suspicious death of a teenage girl triggers suppressed memories. With a stalker targeting vulnerable women in Central London, and his team rapidly diminishing, Hamilton must conquer his emotions before another family is destroyed.

In a sleepy town in Hertfordshire, Katy has worked hard to rebuild her life after leaving behind everything she knew. But when her past catches up with her, and her young son’s life is threatened, Katy must admit her true identity if she has any hope of surviving.

A home should be a safe place, shouldn’t it? But sometimes it is hard to know who you can trust…

London’s murder investigations team returns in the second novel from the bestselling author of In the Shadows.

My review:

Well, your home is meant to be your sanctuary isn’t it? The place where you can close the door behind you and feel safe? In “No Safe Home” home is the very last place that the victims of the “bedroom killer” feel when  the bodies of two young women and their sons are found brutally murdered behind closed doors. DI Hamilton has his work cut out as his team is depleted and a separate case of apparent suicide triggers memories that threaten to overcome him as he races to find the killer before it is too late! A heart pumping killer read with a prologue that will make you check, double and triple check your locks before you go to bed at night!

I had read “In The Shadows” and was looking forward to getting reacquainted with DI Hamilton and the team. “No Safe Home” is a brilliant step up in terms of the development of characters. Tara Lyons has created a team that the reader wants to engage with and wants to find out more about them which paves the way for an excellent series to come. DI Hamilton is a man tormented by his past, I could sense his vulnerability and his struggle to keep his emotions in check; the newcomer to the team, Rocky, intrigued me and I can see him playing a bigger role in future books.

“No Safe Home” is largely narrated by Katy’s experience and as a female it was easy to put myself in her shoes and think about what I would do in a similar situation. I found myself, in Katy’s head, looking over my shoulder at every turn and feeling the fear that she felt as she tried to put her past behind her and move on with her young son.

This was a fast paced and twisted read; short snappy chapters kept my heart racing along with the pace of the plot. I’m not going to lie, it spooked me slightly reading the book in the house on my own and became quickly aware of every noise as my house settled down for the night! But thankfully I was still there in the morning, safe and well and head first back into the book to finish it off!

Tara Lyons is a natural storyteller and this is evident throughout the book; she has created a plot and a team of characters that unfold and develop across the pages. The whole book explores the idea of home as a place of safety and sanctuary and how we deal with this when this security is taken away from us through experiences from our past. It is never gory or gratuitous despite covering child murder, domestic abuse and suicide; twists and turns will keep you guessing right until the end and leave you wanting to find out what lies in store next for DI Hamilton and his team!

To buy the book then click on the link below:

 

 

 

One thought on “No Safe Home: Tara Lyons

Leave a Reply

