#Blogtour: The Betrayed by Casey Kelleher

 

34741367Ok, so I admit that I did give a little squeal when the email from Noelle over at Bookouture pinged into my inbox asking me if I’d like to be a part of the blog tour for Casey Kelleher’s latest novel, #TheBetrayed. I was late to the Casey Kelleher party but had been bowled over by her last book #ThePromise so I didn’t need to think too hard before squealing YESSSSSS PLEASE! Plus I know if Noelle and #Bookouture recommend a book to me then there is a big chance that I am going to love it!

What the blurb says:

Those closest to you don’t stab you in the back. Do they?
Jimmy Byrne is one of the biggest faces on the Soho scene. Equally feared and respected, he’s clawed his way to the top. Money is his game, and he’ll make it by any means necessary.

When Jimmy sets his sights on shy young Colleen Walsh, she is quickly seduced by his sweet words and the life of luxury he offers her. But behind the diamonds and fur coats lies the reality of gangland violence – and by the time she realises the truth, she’s already in too deep.

Like her father, Jimmy Byrne, Nancy Byrne is strong, opinionated – and ruthless. But when Jimmy is murdered. Nancy vows to find the killer and make them pay for their actions.

Only the perpetrator is someone close to home. Someone she trusted. Someone who betrayed them all.

Blood is thicker than water – but Nancy is not afraid to spill some to get the truth.

A totally gripping and gritty thriller that will have you on the edge of your seat. Perfect for fans of Kimberly Chambers, Martina Cole and Jessie Keane.

My review:

You know sometimes you pick up and book and you just cannot put it down…yeah well that was what it was like for me with #TheBetrayed, from page one I was hooked right until the very end!

Colleen Walsh thinks she has met the man of her dreams when encouraged by her mother, she agrees to go out on a date with Jimmy Bryne but are her dreams just about to turn into a nightmare?! A whirlwind romance quickly leads to marriage and before she knows it Colleen is in too deep with no means of escape. Even her two kids, Nancy at Daniel appear to loathe her and she slips deeper into an alcohol-fuelled depression. Meanwhile, Jimmy, is on the up, one of the top Faces on the London gangland scene there is nothing and nobody that will stop him getting what he wants…or will they?

The Betrayed is a dark and extremely tense journey around Jimmy Byrne’s manor and pulls no punches in its storyline! Murder, beatings, prostitution and a ruthless thirst for power had me glued to the pages and unable to put the book down until I’d finished and even then it left me begging for more!

Oh Jimmy, what a bad guy he is, yet there is something about Jimmy, something that lies deep within him that nobody can see. He is a dark and brooding complex character yet he engaged me right from the start. I could see how Colleen was drawn to him despite the fact that they were very different characters – his power was like a magnet, he exuded safety and protection but for Colleen, this illusion was quickly shattered and she had nowhere left to go apart from down!

Joannie, Jimmy’s mother – ooft what a first class b*tch she is! In the first chapter, I kind of felt a bit sorry for her but OMG by half way through the book I wanted to slap that smug look off of her face! Edel, Colleen’s mother, on the other hand, was an absolute delight! I loved that woman! She was mesmerised by Jimmy and protected by Colleen she never got to see what lay beneath the public face he painted. Edel was a breath of fresh air and her put downs to Joannie at Jimmy and Colleen’s wedding were hysterical!

Nancy and Daniel were largely brought up by Joannie as Colleen sank lower and lower; they had no fond childhood memories of their mother and so grew up distant from her and with a disdain for her which was entirely encouraged by Joannie. Nancy – well let’s just say the apple doesn’t fall far from the tree – a female version of her father, she is a cold-hearted, calculating woman and heaven help those who cross her! Daniel is much softer yet confused by his identity and that of his father as he slowly unpicks and unravels some of the secrets that lie behind the perfect Byrne family facade.

Casey explores the themes of secrets and betrayal and what impact that they have on an entire family – from Jimmy’s father who despises his son and his wife yet terrified to leave because of the threats from his son to Colleen who is broken by her husband from the outset and has to live with his secrets and see them destroy her relationship with her children; even to Joannie, Jimmy’s mother – who dotes on her boy yet her whole life is ruled by who he is and the acts he commits – there is no escape for anyone who is connected to Jimmy and his secrets and betrayals.

This is a powerful and hard-hitting read; it will drag you along at a great rate of noughts and pull you screaming all the way to the bitter and twisted conclusion! An absolute pleasure to read this one! My only criticism of this book was that it ended…I just wanted to keep on reading!

Move over Martina Cole, Casey Kelleher is fast becoming one of the top female authors of this genre! You really do not want to miss this one!

About the author:

caseymainpic

Born in Cuckfield, West Sussex, Casey Kelleher grew up as an avid reader and a huge fan of author Martina Cole.

Whilst working as a beauty therapist and bringing up her three children together with her husband, Casey penned her debut novel Rotten to the Core. Its success meant that she could give up her day job and concentrate on writing full time.

She has since published Rise and Fall, Heartless, Bad Blood, The Taken, The Promise and her latest release, The Betrayed is due for publication on the 21st June 2017.

The-Betrayed-Blog-Tour Graphic

 

To buy the book please click on the link below:

 

 

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “#Blogtour: The Betrayed by Casey Kelleher

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s