#BlogTour: Sweet Little Lies by Caz Frear

 

35113953I’m delighted to be hosting today’s spot on the #BlogTour for Caz Frear’s #SweetLittleLies. Thank you to Emily of Bonnierzaffre for inviting me onto the Tour and for the ARC.

What the blurb says:

What happens when the trust has gone?

Cat Kinsella was always a daddy’s girl. Until the summer of 1998 when she sees her father flirting with seventeen-year-old Maryanne Doyle.

When Maryanne later disappears and Cat’s father denies ever knowing her, Cat’s relationship with him is changed forever.

Eighteen years later, Cat is now a Detective Constable with the Met. Called to the scene of a murder in Islington, she discovers a woman’s body: Alice Lapaine has been found strangled, not far from the pub that Cat’s father runs.

When evidence links Alice to the still missing Maryanne, all Cat’s fears about her father resurface. Could he really be a killer? Determined to confront the past and find out what really happened to Maryanne all those years ago, Cat begins to dig into the case. But the problem with looking into the past is that sometimes you might not like what you find.

For fans of Erin Kelly and Belinda Bauer, Sweet Little Lies is a suspenseful page-turner from a talented new voice.

My review:

When the body of Alice Lapaine is found strangled and dumped in a North London park DC Cat Kinsella becomes caught up in a case which threatens to expose secrets from her past and places her role in the Met in jeopardy. Links to missing Maryanne Doyle, set in motion a chain of events that are set to blow apart deeply buried secrets and lies. Can Cat keep it all under wraps or will it blow up in her face further fracturing her family relationships? #SweetLittleLies is a tense and suspenseful debut from Caz Frear and definitely one for the watching!

#SweetLittleLies presents us with a cast of the most unpleasant unreliable narrators! Told in the first person from Cat’s point of view we are only ever sure that she and her DS, Luigi Parnell and DCI Kate Steel are those who present us with the truth. But can we really believe what Cat has to tell us in her narration? Cat Kinsella grew on me as the story unfolded, her tense and somewhat dysfunctional family relationships are poked and prodded unmercifully throughout the plot. Her relationship with her father is one that swings from her memories as a “daddy’s girl” to one where she believes him capable of the most heinous acts. It is a delightfully dark exploration of family dynamics in which some secrets that should never have happened spill onto the pages and into the reader’s head!

Luigi Parnell captured my heart, I loved his gruff, no-nonsense approach to life and to Cat while at the same time offering her a sense of protection and trust that she felt to be missing from her life. Even DCI Steele is portrayed as having a warm heart and caring disposition despite her frosty and scarily efficient exterior. A team worth the watching and I look forward to seeing where they go next.

The novel was a bit of a slow burner for me I have to say. It spent a lot of time on character development and reflecting on the past – but don’t give up on it! As the pace picks up and the plot tightens and thickens then you understand why the first part was so important. It is well worth staying for the journey and I’m not going to lie, your head will be reeling as lie after lie is told, secret after secret exposed and you are left not knowing who the hell you should trust!

Secrets and lies are the main themes underlying the plot and oh what twisted secrets and lies they are indeed. Everyone apart from Parnell and Steele seems to have something to hide and throughout the book, you get the sense that they are all just bubbling up and getting ready to explode!

I started this book thinking “hmm, not sure about this” but by the time I had turned the last page, I was already wondering when the next in the series is going to be published! A cleverly crafted plot and realistic overview of Police procedures and dark humour will ensure that you are not going to be disappointed when you pick this one up off the shelf!

About the author:

Image result for caz frear

Caz grew up in Coventry and spent her teenage years dreaming of moving to London and writing a novel.

After fulfilling her first dream, it wasn’t until she moved back to Coventry thirteen years later that the writing dream finally came true.

She has a first-class degree in History & Politics which she’s put to enormous use over the years by working as a waitress, a shop assistant, a retail merchandiser and, for the past twelve years, a headhunter. When she’s not agonising over snappy dialogue or incisive prose, she can be found shouting at the TV when Arsenal are playing or holding court in the pub on topics she knows nothing about.

Caz is the winner of the Richard & Judy Search for a Bestseller Award 2017.

 

The book is available to purchase from the link below:

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s