Perfect Remains: Helen S Fields

32580398This one has been on my #TBR pile for a while now and I was delighted to be settling down to read one of the most talked about books this year!

What the blurb says:

On a remote Highland mountain, the body of Elaine Buxton is burning. All that will be left to identify the respected lawyer are her teeth and a fragment of clothing.

In the concealed back room of a house in Edinburgh, the real Elaine Buxton screams into the darkness.

Detective Inspector Luc Callanach has barely set foot in his new office when Elaine’s missing persons case is escalated to a murder investigation. Having left behind a promising career at Interpol, he’s eager to prove himself to his new team. But Edinburgh, he discovers, is a long way from Lyon, and Elaine’s killer has covered his tracks with meticulous care.

It’s not long before another successful woman is abducted from her doorstep, and Callanach finds himself in a race against the clock. Or so he believes … The real fate of the women will prove more twisted than he could have ever imagined.

Fans of Angela Marson, Mark Billingham and M. J. Aldridge will be gripped by this chilling journey into the mind of a troubled killer.

My review:

What can I say about this book other than OMG what a spine-chilling, gruesome and murderous tale Helen Fields has penned for lovers of psychological thrillers. “Perfect Remains” isn’t a whodunnit – we are aware from the very beginning of who the murderer is, the real twist in this book is working out why they are doing it in the first place and believe you me, this will keep you guessing all the way!

DI Luc Callanach has just joined Police Scotland from his previous position and life in Interpol in France. He joins the force to find an air of mistrust and misgivings from fellow colleagues and he is struggling to find his way in his new surroundings as it becomes clear his career move was not one made of choice. An intriguing and compelling back story runs parallel to the main plot and gives the reader a glimpse of what has gone on to make Callanach the man that he is.

Luc does manage to make one ally in the force, Ava. She brought out the human side of Luc and her determination to make him less standoffish certainly worked for me as a reader. Luc could be quite a cold and emotionless fish but with Ava drawing him out and his back story unfolding it became clear that there was a much deeper side to this man. The relationship between the two Detective Inspectors was warm and I am keen to see how it develops as the series grows.

The bad guy is certainly one to make your skin crawl and mine was crawling all the way through the book every time he appeared. What a storyline though! In addition to the missing women, we also have a sub plot about babies being dumped and left for dead. What Luc and Ava uncover in this investigation is a heartbreaking story of over zealous religious activity that will engulf you in a rage!

Not for the faint hearted that is for sure! Perfect Remains is gruesome and compelling debut novel from Helen Fields and I will most definitely be reading the next in the series, “Perfect Prey” when it is published next week!

 

About the author:

Helen Fields

Helen can be found on Twitter @Helen_Fields for up to date news and information. A former barrister, Helen now writes Scottish set crime. Her next book ‘Perfect Prey’ is due out on 27 July 2017. She lives in Hampshire with her husband, three children and two dogs.

 

The book is available to purchase here:

 

2 thoughts on “Perfect Remains: Helen S Fields

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.