#BlogTour: Dead to Me, Stephen Edger

 

A huge thank you to Noelle over at Bookouturefor the invite to take part in the #BlogTour for Stephen Edger’s #DeadToMe  and how awesome is it that I’m closing down this tour alongside the brilliant Claire Knight, Guest Reviewer over at  Crimebookjunkie my spot today I am delighted to have been given a very special extract from the book for you all to read!

(Before you read this extract, why not pop over to Eva at Noveldeelights and read the first part of the extract….go on you know you want to!)

Dead-To-Me-Kindle.jpg

What the blurb says:

How do you catch a killer who knows your every move?

The woman lay flat on the table, her face to one side, her wrists bound with thick tape. Deep scratches marked the wood beneath her fingers, now resting cold and still…

When a woman’s body is found in an abandoned bar near the Southampton docks, Detective Kate Matthews is called in to lead the investigation. She must solve this case to prove she is coping with the death of a close colleague.

Kate knows a pile of ripped up newspaper cuttings discovered at the victim’s house must be a piece of the puzzle, but her team keep hitting dead-ends… Until she finds a disturbing clue that convinces her of three things: The murder is linked to the body of a man found hanging in a warehouse, she is on the hunt for a calculated serial killer, and the killer is watching her every move.

Kate realises there will be another victim soon, and that her own life is in grave danger, but no one else believes her theory. Can she find and stop the most twisted killer of her career, before another life is lost?

An absolutely NAIL-BITING thriller that will keep you guessing until the very last page. Perfect for fans of Robert Dugoni, James Patterson and MJ Arlidge.

 

Before you read this extract, why not pop over to Eva at Noveldeelights and read the first part of the extract….go on you know you want to!

 

Dead To Me: Extract Part 2- CHAPTER ONE

TUESDAY

Detective Superintendent Williams began speaking before she’d even shut the door behind her. ‘What the hell went wrong yesterday? You assured me he would go down. You said there was no way a jury wouldn’t convict.’

Kate had asked herself the same question more than a dozen times but still didn’t have a definitive answer. ‘I don’t know what to say, sir. The CPS said we would—’

‘I don’t give a shit what the CPS said! You managed the enquiry. You gathered the evidence. You oversaw the interviews. I just don’t understand, Matthews. Do you not like it here? Is that the problem? You don’t think we’re as good as the Met, so you don’t want to try as hard. Is that it?’

‘No, sir.’

The vein in the centre of his forehead was throbbing. ‘You’ve been with us for four months, four months, and you’re yet to successfully secure a conviction. It’s not like you haven’t had plenty of opportunities.’ He began pacing in front of the large window behind his desk. ‘I was warned that I was taking a chance by bringing you into the team, but I followed my gut and now you’re making me look like an old fool.’

‘Please, sir, what happened yesterday was unfortunate—’

‘Really? That’s how you’d describe that bloody shambles? Symptomatic: that’s the word I’d use. Am I wrong?’

She sighed; there was no point in arguing with him. ‘No, sir.’

‘DCI Vaughn would be turning in his grave if he could see what a bloody pig’s ear you were making of his unit. He was meticulous in his case preparation.’

Kate kept her head bowed as the supe once again waxed lyrical about the man she’d been brought in to replace. How could she ever compete with a living legend, struck down in his prime?

‘Yes?’

Patel’s head had popped around the door as the supe answered his knock. ‘Apologies for the interruption, sir. We’ve just taken a call about a fire at a dockside warehouse. Uniform are on scene with paramedics and the fire brigade.’

‘And?’

‘And, they’ve just found a body inside; sir, it’s missing its head and feet. Inspector Bentley wants us down there straight away.’

‘Okay. Send DI Underhill in as SIO.’

‘He’s still tied up with that body they found on Saturday night, sir.’

DSI Williams glanced down at Kate, who looked pleadingly in his direction. He narrowed his eyes and sighed. ‘Very well, Matthews, get yourself down there and secure the scene. Make sure everyone knows what they are doing and report back to me at the first possible opportunity. That’ll be all, DS Patel.’

He waited until Patel had closed the door and then leaned in towards Kate. ‘I want regular updates on your progress, you hear me? Do not drop the ball on this one.’

Now has that not just given you something to get your teeth right into!

Kate Matthews is a detective with a past. A past which has followed her to her new post and one which she is desperately trying to shake off as she struggles to prove her worth to the rest of the team. Caught up in three brutal and seemingly unconnected murders, Kate finds herself in a race against time to uncover the truth. Adding to the tension is the stalker who is driving her actions and the threats against her young daughter Chloe, Dead to Me is a tense cat and mouse thriller that leaves your brain in a whirl!

 

“Dead To Me” is available to purchase via links below:

Amazon UK

Amazon USA

About Stephen:

Stephen Edger is a British crime writer, who has been writing since 2010. In that time he has written and published eleven novels, and five short stories. He writes mysteries and thrillers focused on crime.

Stephen was born in the north-east of England, grew up in London, but has lived in Southampton since attending university in the year 2000. Stephen works in the financial industry and uses his insider knowledge to create the plots of his books. He also has a law degree, which gives him a good understanding of the inner workings of the UK justice system.

Stephen is married and has two children and two dogs. He is passionate about reading and writing and cites Simon Kernick and John Grisham as major influences on his writing style.

https://www.facebook.com/AuthorStephenEdger/

https://twitter.com/StephenEdger

https://www.stephenedger.com/

Stephen Edger Profile photo (b&w).jpg

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.