#BookReview: Come and Find Me by Sarah Hilary @sarah_hilary @headlinepg

36355163

“Come And Find Me” is the 5th in the DI Marnie Rome series and it is safe to say that this is a series that just gets better and better! I’ve read all of the books and each time a new one is released I’m on tenterhooks waiting to see where Sarah Hilary takes us next. I received and ARC of “Come and Find Me” from Headline.

Before I share my thoughts. here’s what the official blurb says:

Gripping, tense, twisty and full of emotional insight, COME AND FIND ME is Sarah Hilary’s Marnie Rome 5 book, for fans of Mick Herron or Clare Mackintosh. 

‘Hilary belts out a corker of a story, all wrapped up in her vivid, effortless prose. If you’re not reading this series of London-set police procedurals then you need to start right away’ Observer

On the surface, Lara Chorley and Ruth Hull have nothing in common, other than their infatuation with Michael Vokey. Each is writing to a sadistic inmate, sharing her secrets, whispering her worst fears, craving his attention.

DI Marnie Rome understands obsession. She’s finding it hard to give up her own addiction to a dangerous man: her foster-brother, Stephen Keele. She wasn’t able to save her parents from Stephen. She lives with that guilt every day.

As the hunt for Vokey gathers pace, Marnie fears one of the women may have found him – and is about to pay the ultimate price.

My thoughts:

I always struggle to review Sarah Hilary’s novels there is nothing I can say that will do her work justice. Her novels command our attention and demand that you focus. They are more than police procedurals, they go beyond this and extend into the psychological thriller genre with a twist.

That opening chapter just hurtled towards me like an express train full of insanity, mayhem and violence as a riot erupts in HMP Cloverton, yet Sarah Hilary managed to convey it all with no overtly gratuitous description, just a short, sharp but deadly narrative that ensured I was ready to buckle up and begin the ride!

Michael Vokey, a convicted sadist with no conscience has escaped in the midst of the riot and the race is on to find him before the lives of the two women who have been writing to him. Never bowing to stereotypes Sarah Hilary introduces a whole new level of psychology to this book along with a strong social commentary on the current penal system. “Prisons aren’t run by the screws” “Come and Find Me” explores the extent of the power held by the inmates.  If you read between the lines and listen closely to the narrative in Sarah Hilary’s novels there is always a message to be heard.

An intelligent and well researched dialogue and plot, incorporating the arts and psychology with reference to real life psychological experiments (The Szondi Test) and concepts, hybristophilia,the phenomenon of those who are turned on by individuals who commit crime,  “Come and Find Me” has it all.

Strong, powerful and punchy narrative gives you all the detail without the need for description. Sarah Hilary really does have that “show don’t tell” down to a fine art. She doesn’t shy away from the tough stuff, oh nope she faces it head on and gives it a good damn kicking.  Marnie further explores her relationship with her foster-brother, Stephen in the midst of an investigation which also seen him being hospitalised. “Come and Find Me” is more than a whodunnit, it is a whole exploration of relationships and obsessions. It probes around inside your head, forcing you to question and to contemplate; it crawls under your skin and leaves you wanting more!

If you haven’t yet been introduced to DI Marnie Rome then what the hell are you waiting for!

“Come and Find Me” is available to purchase from:

Amazon UK

Amazon US

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.