#BlogTour: #MyLittleEye by Stephanie Marland @crimethrillgirl @orion_crime

35479008

I am a huge fan of this author’s books written under Steph Broadribb so when I was offered the chance to take part in the blog tour for the newest series written under her pen name of Marland then I absolutely leapt at the chance!

A huge thanks to the author and Orion, the Publisher, for inviting me to take part and for the ARC to review.

Before I share my thoughts, here’s what the official blurb says:

A rocket-paced thriller for fans of Mark Billingham and Luther. Can a group of true crime addicts take on a struggling police force to catch a serial killer?
The thriller with the twists you’ll never see coming! Perfect for fans of The Girl in the Ice and The Missing Ones. Can a group of true crime addicts take on the police to catch a serial killer?

KISS THE GIRLS
A young woman is found dead in her bedroom surrounded by rose petals – the latest victim of ‘The Lover’. Struggling under the weight of an internal investigation, DI Dominic Bell is no closer to discovering the identity of the killer and time is running out.

AND MAKE THEM DIE…
As the murders escalate, Clementine Starke joins an online true crime group determined to take justice in their own hands – to catch the killer before the police. Hiding a dark secret, she takes greater risks to find new evidence and infiltrate the group.

As Starke and Bell get closer to cracking the case neither of them realise they’re being watched. The killer is closer to them than they think, and he has his next victim – Clementine – firmly in his sights.

My thoughts:

Well it is a massive #BOOM for me as Stephanie Marland introduced me to the new DI on the block, Dominic Bell. All I can say is when you pick up this book then prepare yourself for an outstanding experience as you are hurtled straight into the heart of the investigation for a sick and twisted serial killer. This is no ordinary police procedural, however, as working in the shadows are a group of True Crime hunters who are determined to catch the bad guy before the police do. What price will they pay and just how safe are you when you hide behind an online persona? “My Little Eye” is going to blow you out of the water as you turn each page!

The author has a tremendous skill in her creation of characters so well-rounded and the delivery of a narrative that leaves the reader reeling. With just the right amount of description I found myself immersed in the plot straight away. Immediately I was embroiled not only in the lives of the characters but I found myself at the heart of both investigations and my heart was pounding!

Stephanie Marland is on fire with this novel: the plot is new, it’s edgy and it’s raw. The characters are complex and as a reader I had no idea who was responsible for the murders, so many red herrings dangling in front of me, it kept me guessing all the way! And I mean all the way until the very end and then it left me screaming for more!

There are a whole cast of characters to get to know in “My Little Eye” but DI Dom Bell is one that I connected with immediately. His past and indeed his present are very complex and little snippets are fed as the story develops letting you crawl inside of his head and experience the conflict and anguish he is facing. His True Crime Counterpart, Clementine was a strange kettle of fish and I found myself wanting to like her but there was just something about her that set me on edge. However, you feel about her though, you are going to be compelled to read this one until the very end!

Addressing the wide reach of social media and the inherent dangers and risks, “My Little Eye” feeds that thirst we all have to be in the midst of the news, that frenzy for instant updates and that very real idea of persona’s hiding behind their keyboards. Each of the True Life Crime Club brought with them a kind of “disturbed” personality as their obsession with solving the murder takes over their lives and indeed leads them to take actions that may place them at risk. It was fascinating to watch this play out across the pages and is testament to the author’s ingenious imagination as she created a scene that played out in splendid colour in my head as I read.

So, would I recommend you read “My Little Eye” oh yes indeed I do! This is a series that readers will be shouting for MORE! An intelligent plot, believable characters and a compelling read, this book is one that you would be absolutely crazy to miss!

“My Little Eye” is available to purchase from:

Amazon UK

Amazon US

Don’t forget to check what the other bloggers have been saying:

My Little Eye Blog Tour.jpg

About the author:

Stephanie Marland

Stephanie Marland has worked in the University sector for over ten years and published research on how people interact and learn together in virtual environments online. She’s an alumni of the MA in Creative Writing (Crime Fiction) at City University London, and an avid reader of all things crime fiction, blogging about books at http://www.crimethrillergirl.com. Steph also writes the Lori Anderson action thriller series (as Steph Broadribb) for Orenda Books.

Advertisements

4 thoughts on “#BlogTour: #MyLittleEye by Stephanie Marland @crimethrillgirl @orion_crime

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.