#Blogtour #TheProposal from SE Lynes @SELynesAuthor @Bookouture

The Proposal: An unputdownable psychological thriller by [Lynes, S.E.]

It is all the OMGs and Eeeeks today as I am one of the bloggers kicking off the #BlogTour for The Proposal by SE Lynes! It is fair to say that I was probably badgering Kim of Bookouture to be on this tour before the ink on the manuscript was even dry! I am a major fan of Susie Lynes’ books and if you have read my previous reviews of her books then you will know that I think she is a genius! So anyway enough of my waffling, let’s get this #BlogTour started! Thanks to Bookouture, Netgalley and SE Lynes for the ARC to review!

Check out Anne over at RandomThings and Lorna at Ontheshelfreviews who are kicking off the tour with me today!

Before I share my thoughts, here’s what the official blurb says:

You invited him into your life. And now you can never go back… 

Teacher Pippa wants a second chance. Recently divorced and unhappy at work, she uproots her life to renovate a beautiful farmhouse in the countryside, determined to make a fresh start. But Pippa soon realises: your troubles are never far behind.

When Pippa meets blue-eyed Ryan Marks, he is funny, charming, and haunted by his past. He might just be the answer to all her problems. But how well does she really know him?

She knows the story of his life, the pain that stays with him, the warmth of his smile and the smell of his skin. She knows he can make her laugh over a glass of wine.

Pippa can tell truth from lies. She’d know if she were in danger. Wouldn’t she?

From Amazon chart bestseller S.E. Lynes, The Proposal is a page-turning and utterly gripping thriller about the lengths we will go to for someone we love. Perfect for fans of Gone Girl, The Woman at the Window and The Wife Between Us.

My thoughts:

Stop! I need to breathe again! Actually, think I need resuscitation! Every time I think Susie Lynes can’t do any better she smashes that damn ball right out of the park!

When you pick up a book and the first line is “the first thing you should know, dear reader, is that I am dead” you know it’s going to grip you & when you know it’s by SE Lynes then you know it is going to grab you by the throat, punch you in the gut and mess with your mind before spitting you out a mess at the other side!

The Proposal is told through a series of journal entries and blog posts the unique narrative takes the reader on a dark and twisted journey into the life of author Pippa Gates; the public life through her social media feed and the private life through the journal entries with snippets of audio tape from the man who will change her life!

Ryan had a depth about his character that made me feel like I could see into the abyss of his soul; something about him repelled and attracted me at the same time; I had a sense of unease reading the book as though I could feel something awful about to happen! Pippa conflicted me – from feeling a terrible sorrow at the emotional mess that she was to a frustration at the self-destruct button she pushed right through to disgust at her lack of concern for those close to her. She is a damaged soul and it was difficult to know what to feel for her at times. Both characters were written authentically and to the point that I could actually see each of them, like two actors on a stage playing out their strange and twisted story.

There is a real intensity about the dialogue and when Ryan reminds Pippa of the emotional contract we make with words, a shiver ran down my spine: his understanding of the unsaid words that lie beneath a seemingly innocent statement or invitation making my skin crawl. I loved the writer narrating the life of the writer and the insight into the writing process, albeit a very dark process was a fascinating take on the story; it gave it something unique, something raw and something very compelling indeed!

The tension just kept building, my stomach was in knots and my brain was frying. The dripping obsession fear and descent into darkness oozed from the pages; it drew me in, wrapped its tentacles around me and swallowed me whole leaving me a bloody mess by the end. There was something so ordinarily authentic about it, reminding me of when I read the author’s first novel, Valentina, it was almost as though I were friends with Pippa sat next to her on the sofa as she regaled me with tales of tinder dates and bad decisions. She irritated me yet she drew me like a moth to a flame.

SE Lynes is the mistress of her craft, she doesn’t just write psychological thrillers she creates psychological masterpieces which make you work for your reward; no easy read cosy crime here but rather a breakneck hurtling bungee jump off the highest building kinda read. Genius, sheer genius! There’s a dark intensity to Lynes writing which will absorb you from the outset

The Proposal is a twisted and macabre tale of love, rejection, and obsession cleverly narrated from the point of view of novelist Pippa Gates. This book will make you question your own motivations and decisions in life.

Deliciously dark, dangerously deviant and delightfully daring, SE Lynes once again proves that she has magic ink flowing from her fingertips, that she has a genius that others wish could be bottled and sold. Read this book, read all her books, there is no excuse not to!

The Proposal is available to purchase from:

Amazon UK

Amazon US

Don’t forget to check out what the other bloggers are saying:

About the author:

S.E. Lynes

After graduating from Leeds University, S E Lynes lived in London before moving to Aberdeen where she worked as a BBC Producer. In 2002, she moved to Rome with her husband and two young children. In 2007, after the birth of her third child, she returned to the UK and gained an MA in Creative Writing from Kingston University. Currently, she writes novels and teaches Creative Writing at Richmond Adult Community College. Her psychological thriller, Valentina, was published by Blackbird Books in 2016 and her next book, the dark and twisting bestseller, Mother, was published by Bookouture in November 2017 with her third book, The Pact, publishing in February 2018.

3 thoughts on “#Blogtour #TheProposal from SE Lynes @SELynesAuthor @Bookouture

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.