#BlogTour #CloserThanBlood Paul Grzegorzek @PaulGlaznost @KillerReads @BOTBSPublicity

44151835. sy475
Source: Publisher ARC

I’m delighted to be taking part in the blog tour for Paul Grzegorzek’s Closer Than Blood. Thanks to Sarah over at BookOnTheBrightSide for inviting me to take part.

Before I share my thoughts, here’s what the official blurb says:

You would do anything for your family. Wouldn’t you?

The second explosive thriller in the PC Gareth Bell series. Perfect for fans of Peter James.

‘Writes with raw, engaging, authenticity’ Peter James

The real nightmare begins when the missing person returns…

PC Gareth Bell is about to arrest a cocaine dealer on Brighton Marina, when he makes a shocking discovery that turns his world upside down: the dealer is his long-lost brother, Jake, someone he thought had died years ago.
 
But their reunion is short lived. For Jake is on the run from a cold-blooded killer, whose network reaches all the way into the police force itself. Now that his brother’s life is on the line, Bell has only two choices. Family, or duty?

My thoughts:

You know that way that a book just captures you from the moment that you open the first page? Well Closer Than Blood was one of those books for me!

It’s the second in the Gareth Bell series and I cannot believe that I missed the first one! It reads perfectly well as a standalone, although I now have to go back and read the first one to get more of my Paul Grzegorzek fix!

Fans of the author’s work will recognise, John Cooper, from “But For The Grace of God” but this one is most definitely Gareth Bell’s story and what a story it is!

Gareth Bell is closing in on a major drug deal when he recognises the dealer as his missing brother Jake. He’s thrown into a situation that will not only have implications for his career but also for his family and those close to him. What follows next is a highly charged and fast paced race against time for Gareth. A tightly plotted and action packed narrative will take your breath away and then some! The author manages to use the most exquisite description in his narrative without it feeling like I’m wading through treacle to get to the point. He brings the story alive When DS Gareth Bell discovers his brother, whom he thought had been dead for the last 20years, very much alive and embroiled in some hard-core drug dealing, the tension ramps up a notch: on one hand Gareth wants to do his job and arrest Jake but on the other he wants to protect him too This one has it all, the setting, the characters and the plot…and the fight scenes! I could almost hear the bones break! A strong punchy narrative keeps the tension high. Gareth Bell describes himself as a shit magnet and god is that true! Trouble follows him everywhere! The story is told from his point of view and in the first person placing me firmly inside of his head. Not always the nicest of places to be. The scenes between Gareth and his dad, who is in a hospice had me welling up, they were so emotional and most definitely written from the heart.

Brighton is one of my most favourite places in the world, it’s vibrant culture sits alongside a darker and more dangerous side of the city and the author brings it to life through his writing; I could almost smell the sea and feel the air on my face as I turned each page and found myself transported to the streets of the city.

Closer Than Blood starts with a bang and promises action and tension; it does not fail to deliver; drug wars, international gangs and a whole shit load of trouble for Gareth Bell, it’s tense, it’s harsh and it’s thrilling. Don’t miss it!

Closer than Blood is available from:

Amazon UK

Amazon US

About the author

Paul Grzegorzek was born in 1976 and despite the name is Sussex born and (mostly) bred.

Paul writes dark, gritty crime novels inspired by his time as a police officer in his home town of Brighton, giving them a realistic feel that can only come from years of experience pounding the streets.  During his police career, he worked in a number of specialist units, including as a riot medic, method of entry specialist and intelligence officer, where he met and worked with many of the people who became characters in his books.

He has also worked in the private security and defence industries, as well as consulting for various agencies, giving him a unique insight into crime at both street and higher levels.

Born in Shoreham-By-Sea, within spitting distance of Brighton, Paul now lives in Hove with his wife and two sons.

Social media links:

twitter: @paulglaznost

facebook: https://en-gb.facebook.com/pages/category/Author/Paul-Grzegorzek-173832352713621/

2 thoughts on “#BlogTour #CloserThanBlood Paul Grzegorzek @PaulGlaznost @KillerReads @BOTBSPublicity

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.