#BookReview #TheMurderHouse Michael Wood @MichaelHWood @0neMoreChapter_

The Murder House: A gripping new crime thriller that will keep you hooked (DCI Matilda Darke Thriller, Book 5) by [Wood, Michael]
Source: Netgalley ARC

I’ve been patiently waiting…actually I’ve been impatiently waiting for the latest Matilda Darke book from Michael Wood and I was buzzing when I was lucky enough to receive an early review copy!

And here’s my HAPPY PUBLICATION DAY review!

Before I share my thoughts, here’s what the official blurb says:

They were the perfect family. It was the perfect crime.

The new gripping DCI Matilda Darke crime thriller about the dark secrets that lie within a perfect family. For fans of Patricia Gibney and Angela Marsons.

It’s the most disturbing crime scene DCI Matilda Darke has ever seen…
 

The morning after a wedding reception at a beautiful suburban home in Sheffield, the bride’s entire family are stabbed to death – in a frenzied attack more violent than anything DCI Matilda Darke could have imagined.
 

Forensics point to a burglar on the run across the country. But cracks are starting to appear in Matilda’s team, someone is playing games with the evidence – and the killer might be closer to home than they thought…

My thoughts:

When a writer like Michael Wood kicks off with such a happy occasion you just know that it’s quickly going to become dark and twisted! And I was not disappointed! Jeremy Mercer wakes up hungover after his sister’s wedding but life is just about to get worse for him and then some! Actually how much worse life could get is impossible to imagine!

Jesus…that opening chapter- I have no words! Murder and a missing child combined to wrench at my heartstrings in the first few chapters, I honestly didn’t know whether time be terrified or tearful…so I just went with both options!

Wood has a delightfully dark and twisted mind but he also has a knack for creating multi-layered and relatable characters, the type that really get under your skin. And get under my skin they did!

Matilda Darke is a strong woman, yet she has a vulnerability about her and a very real sense that she has her team’s back at all times. I love how she has grown and developed throughout the series. I actually feel like she is real, well she is…isn’t she!

Meanwhile her own team also have their own issues to deal with. They seem to be crumbling down round about her. This case has really had a massive impact on members of the team with some of them reconsidering their career. DC Scott Andrew, in particular, is facing some personal issues and is worried about how these will affect his work. But Matilda makes time for all of them, despite the pressure being applied on her from above to make a quick arrest. It really made me think about the impact of some crimes on attending officers, the murders are horrific but the author manages to portray the awfulness without being overly graphic.

Of course Matilda also has an old case hanging over her, that of missing child, Carl Meagan and, with no spoilers, fans of the series will know just how much of an impact this case has had on her. Will this book lead to a resolution for her…you will just need to read it and see!!

And there is a small cameo appearance from a certain editorial name that made me smile!

Littered with the voice of an unknown narrator the pace and tension were perfect. We do discover who this narrator is and once I knew, it didn’t make things any easier for me. My anxiety levels were through the roof as I began to suspect everyone and anyone.

The Murder House dived right inside my head; it poked and prodded, it taunted and it teased, its intensity was raw and it was perfect in its execution. I honestly had no idea what was about to happen and that bloody ending…well just let’s say it left me hanging on the edge of the cliff…which is where I will stay until Michael Wood puts me out of my misery with the next instalment.

If you haven’t read this series then you are missing out big time, I suggest you dive in, buckle up and enjoy the ride!

Murder House is available to purchase from:

Amazon UK

Amazon US

2 thoughts on “#BookReview #TheMurderHouse Michael Wood @MichaelHWood @0neMoreChapter_

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.