#BookReview #TheKillingTide Lin Anderson @Lin_Anderson @panmacmillan

57638464. sy475
Source: Purchase Via Waterstones

Everyone who knows me, knows I am a massive fan of Lin Anderson and her writing. It’s a patient wait for me each year for the latest in the Rhona MacLeod series. I’m delighted to be sharing my thoughts today on The Killing Tide, which is the 16th book in the series.

Before I share my thoughts, here’s the official blurb:

The Killing Tide by Lin Anderson sees forensic scientist Rhona MacLeod investigating a mysterious abandoned ship which has swept ashore in the Orkney Isles.

After a fierce storm hits Scotland, a mysterious cargo ship is discovered in the Orkney Isles. Boarding the vessel uncovers three bodies, recently deceased and in violent circumstances. Forensic scientist Dr Rhona MacLeod’s study of the crime scene suggests that a sinister game was being played on board, but who were the hunters? And who the hunted?

Meanwhile in Glasgow DS Michael McNab is called to a horrific incident where a young woman has been set on fire. Or did she spark the flames herself?

As evidence arises that connects the two cases, the team grow increasingly concerned that the truth of what happened on the ship and in Glasgow hints at a wider conspiracy that stretches down to London and beyond to a global stage. Orcadian Ava Clouston, renowned investigative journalist, believes so and sets out to prove it, putting herself in grave danger.

When the Met Police challenge Police Scotland’s jurisdiction, it becomes obvious that there are ruthless individuals who are willing to do whatever it takes to protect government interests. Which could lead to even more deaths on Scottish soil . . 

My thoughts

The Killing Tide opens with a violent storm hitting Scotland; a ghost ship washed up on the shore around Orkney and Dr Rhona MacLeod in her Glasgow flat. Lin Anderson certainly knows how to place her readers firmly in the heart of the story by creating a sense of place so authentic you can almost feel the gales threatening to put in your windows and taste the salt of the sea on your lips. The vivid description whips up the atmosphere and the tension before you’ve even found out what’s going on, in this stunning opening, the weather almost becomes a character in its own right.

Following the discovery of three dead bodies on the ship and a burnt body in a Glasgow flat, the reader is taken on a journey spanning Glasgow, London and Orkney as Rhona, her assistant Chrissie and DS Michael McNab find themselves embroiled in a nail biting investigation.

As usual Lin Anderson has crafted a plot so deliciously intricate, at first you wonder how each strand will connect but by the end of the book she has you eating from the palm of her hand as they effortlessly weave together.

Although this is the 16th in the series, it can be read as a standalone, however, there is something quite special about reading each of these books in sequence as it allows you to watch the characters grow and develop. I always feel as though I am a part of these investigations, as though the characters are real people and I am a part of their lives. Each of them with their own strengths, flaws and quirks; I absorb myself in the relationship dynamics and often find myself wondering about them long after I’ve turned the last page.  

Of course, Michael McNab, the cause of so many readers fluttering hearts, has earned a special place in mine but it doesn’t stop me wanting to give him a good shake at times! If the Facebook relationship status, “it’s complicated”, was made for anyone, it was made for DS Michael McNab.

Rhona’s assistant Chrissie brings a certain colourfulness to proceedings and her voracious appetite hasn’t abated at all – that woman has a stomach of steel and there is no grisly murder that will ever prevent her tucking into her food.

And Rhona herself, well, she is a woman of many layers and she is right up there in my all time favourite characters. For me it is the sensitivity and dignity she brings to each investigation and her determination to seek justice for the victims, demonstrated through her actions at the scene of crime, bringing a sense of respect and reverence to her role in the investigation; it is never forgotten that each victim is a person and it is clear for Rhona, this is more than just a job.

It is hard to believe that this is the 16th in the series, it still feels as fresh as ever, with short sharp chapters adding to the ever increasing tension, a cast of characters who will step inside your heart and your head, tantalising plot lines and a sense of place that is second to none, The Killing Tide is a must read for lovers of crime fiction!

You can purchase The Killing Tide via


Amazon UK

Amazon US

About the author

Lin Anderson

Lin Anderson is best known as the creator of the forensic scientist Rhona MacLeod series of crime thriller novels, and for her part in founding the annual ‘Bloody Scotland’ crime writing festival.

There are 16 novels and one novella in Lin Anderson’s Forensic Scientist Rhona MacLeod Series :-

Novella – Blood Red Roses (prequel to Driftnet)

Book 1 – Driftnet

Book 2 – Torch

Book 3 – Deadly Code

Book 4 – Dark Flight

Book 5 – Easy Kill

Book 6 – Final Cut

Book 7 – The Reborn

Book 8 – Picture Her Dead

Book 9 – Paths of the Dead (Shortlisted for Scottish Crime Book of 2015)

Book 10 – The Special Dead (Longlisted for Scottish Crime Book of 2016)

Book 11 – None but the Dead (Longlisted for Scottish Crime Book of 2017)

Book 12 – Follow the Dead (Shortlisted for Scottish Crime Book of 2018)

Book 13 – Sins of the Dead

Book 14 – Time for the Dead (Longlisted for Scottish Crime Book of 2020)

Book 15 – The Innocent Dead

Book 16 – The Killing Tide

Lin has a second mystery thriller series featuring private investigator Patrick de Courvoisier, set in glamorous Cannes (think ‘The Rockford Files’ meets James Bond) :-

Book 1 – The Case of the Black Pearl

Book 2 – The Case of the Missing Madonna

Lin has recently co-written with Donald McKay the initial book in a BLAZE DOG DETECTIVE series for children :-

Book 1 – The Magic Flag Mystery

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.