#BookReview #SurvivorsGuilt Michael Wood @MichaelHWood @0neMoreChapter_

Survivor’s Guilt: An absolutely gripping new crime thriller with a twist you won’t see coming (DCI Matilda Darke Thriller, Book 8) by [Michael Wood]
Source: Amazon Purchase

Michael Woods writes books I don’t even need to read the blurb before I buy and his Matilda Darke series is up there with one of my all time favourites.

Before I share my thoughts on the latest in the series, Survivor’s Guilt, here is what the official blurb says:


Nine months ago DCI Matilda Darke survived a bullet to the head. The brutal attack claimed dozens of lives, including those she loved most, and the nightmares still plague her every waking thought.


Now, she’s ready to get back on the job. But a new terror awaits. A woman is found murdered and her wounds look eerily similar to several cold cases. Desperate to find a lead, DCI Darke and her team must face a terrifying truth: a serial killer is on the loose in Sheffield.


Matilda has led countless murder investigations before but the lingering emotional scars from her ordeal and the uneasiness within her once-tight team have left tensions high. As the body count rises, Matilda realises that this might just be where it all ends.

My Thoughts:

In the name of Mary, Joseph and the wee donkey, Survivor’s Guilt opens up with a killer hook of a prologue causing much cursing as I knew that sleep was just about to evade me!

After putting his readers through hell and back in Time is Running Out, Michael Wood, once again takes his readers on a rollercoaster ride of a read as Matilda Darke has returned to work but has she made the right decision. Is she fit to take her team into the next case and do her team even trust her ability to do so?

The strength in this series, along with the astonishingly mind blowing storylines, is the characters. He has created a cast of characters who step out of the pages and into your lives. I’ve become totally invested in the lives of Matilda and her team and I can see them in my head as each story unfolds. I feel their frustrations at Matilda as she closes herself off from those who have always had her back but at the same time, my heart aches for this woman who has been to hell and back and finds herself doubting her own abilities and even if she is right for the job.

Matilda is back but she has changed and her team know it, and not all of them are behind her. As they get caught up in the investigation into missing sex workers, eyes are all on Matilda as they work out whether or not she is fit to be back at work. The last year has taken its toll and we are soon caught up in the fractured relationships left behind. Old cases appear to have reached a conclusion but is life really happy ever after for those involved. Matilda seems to be hell bent on cutting off all those she holds dear as she desperately tries to prove herself.

This one has it all, hope, sadness, and jaw dropping revelations and once again proves that Michael Wood is a cruel, cruel man. He not only subjects his characters to emotional and physical turmoil, he plays with his readers emotions as they become embroiled in the lives of the cast he has created. It has revenge, guilt, jaw dropping revelations and will have your heart racing until the bitter end. And what an ending!

I NEED the next in this series and I need it soon!

You can purchase Survivor’s Guilt via

Amazon UK

Amazon US

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.